Help please! about SSH in installer...

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by i305, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. i305 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    OpenSSH for the iPod touch is installing an OpenSSH server on your iPod touch so you can connect to it. It's not an ssh client, insofar as I'm aware (and if it is, it's command-line based and you'd need one of the terminal apps to access it).

    EDIT: I should point out that this is how things were back when I had a jailbroken iPhone, which hasn't been for several months now. Probably since 1.1.0 or so.
     
  3. i305 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #3
    Yea I know that. But OpenSSH doesn't show up anywhere on my iPod touch after I install it. :mad:

    *edit: You said I need one of the terminal apps to access it.. which app do I need. can you help me please!?
     
  4. grandeabc macrumors member

    grandeabc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #4
    Go to your MAC (don't kno windows) and install cyberduck, then ssh into your touch (see the ip address in your touch at the Settings\WiFi\select the arrow from your connection)
    OR
    install AFPd in yout touch. This is an amazing program, because it will shows up your ipod Touch in your Finder (for Mac users). Then you just need to type "root" and your passaword (if you didn't change it, it's "alpine", or "dottie"
    ;)
     
  5. i305 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #5
    Thanks sooooooo much for the help,but im on a pc now. I have a Mac, but it's back home. (im a college student) :(
     
  6. i305 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #6
    Some one? help me? PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!! ?
     
  7. japanime macrumors 68000

    japanime

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Glad your problem has been solved, but why did you edit out your original post? It would help to know what the original problem was, so those of us who might be experiencing similar or same issues could benefit from this thread.

    If you could re-edit your original post to let us know what the problem was, that would be great.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page