Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ish

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 30, 2004
UK
I’d like to buy a Nikon D40 or D60 and would appreciate your advice on whether one would be better than the other as they're very similar. I’m also puzzled by a few things I’ve read in comparisons that don’t seem to make sense, but as I’m a noob in the dSLR field I hesitate to question them.

The smaller size and lighter weight of these two cameras is important. Any cameras of better quality are bigger and heavier and won’t get used. I have an old Nikon FE and a digital p&s but have been impressed with the quality of the newer dSLRs and I can now afford to move over. Given I always wanted a standard zoom for my old Nikon, I shall begin with the 18-55mm VR kit lens which doesn’t have a bad write-up, and go on from there. I don't want to choose on the basis of cost.

I occasionally make DVDs from still photos of travels. The 6m pixels of the Fuji p&s is enough to zoom well in from an already-cropped photo on a 42” widescreen TV, and any large pictures I wanted would probably be posters so would not need to be printed at full resolution, so 6m pixels is probably enough, but 10 might be handy if it doesn’t cause any extra problems. I take mostly landscape, but also some family and I'd like to do some macro as well. Oh, and the cats!

I don’t want to use any of my old lenses as I only have a 50mm prime (I might part with the old Nikon and lens) and an old bulky something–200mm zoom lens from Tamron (they’re much smaller now). I’d like to start again.

I’d appreciate your advice on some comments written by Ken Rockwell. Yes I know his reports are subjective but he’s comparing the two cameras I’m looking at and seems to think the D60 is a waste of space compared with the D40. I don’t know, though, if his views are overshadowed by his fondness for his D40.

He says: