HELP PLEASE ! can't get out of recovery mode

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alroyhuang, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. alroyhuang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #1
    my mom borrowed my iphone 3gs 4.1 software for about 2 or 3 months cus she needed a phone in china. it was jailbroken and today i tried to restore it. it didnt work and now my phone is in recovery mode and ive been using tinyumbrella to try to exit out of recovery but everytime i press exit recovery it keeps going back. i dont know what to do. please help me. thank you
     
  2. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
  3. RebeccaL macrumors 6502a

    RebeccaL

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    #3
    Have you tried reseting it by holding down sleep+home?
     
  4. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #4
    yes i have
     
  5. RebeccaL macrumors 6502a

    RebeccaL

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
  6. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #6
  7. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
  8. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  9. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #9
    its already in DFU and everytime i try restoring i get error
     
  10. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #10
    i did it got kicked out and it went back in.. it keeps going back everytime
     
  11. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #11
    The OP said in the original post that they already tried using TU with no luck. :rolleyes:
     
  12. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #12
    Make sure that your "hosts" file isn't edited to include Saurik's server? It hasn't been working lately and will affect your restore. If you have it, just remove Saurik's IP address.

    I think you can also do this through TU by unchecking a box.
     
  13. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #13
    i never touched the hosts file .
     
  14. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #14
    Check to see if that box in TU is checked, regardless.
     
  15. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #15
    where is the box ? and what does it say?
     
  16. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #16
    I'm not exactly sure where it is, I don't use TU for reasons, but I believe it's just a box that says something along the lines of redirect to Cydia server or something.
     
  17. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #17
    ahhh i see it okay i unchecked and applied changes now what do i do ? do i press restore on itunes now ?
     
  18. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    Is your phone factory unlocked? If it's not you need to get PwnageTool and make a custom ispw before you restore, or you will lose the jb and your phone will be bricked.
     
  19. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #19
    what does factory unlocked mean ? its not unlocked for other carriers and i dont really care if i lose the jb i just want to restore my phone from scratch
     
  20. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #20
    i have windows btw
     
  21. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    Did you buy this phone officially from a certified carrier? If you did you don't have to worry about anything, just press restore.
     
  22. alroyhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #22
    i bought it from AT&T and whenever i press restore it gives me error 3194
     
  23. smakle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #23
    Same here. I get error 3194, too. I am trying to upgrade my iphone 4 to 4.3.2 from 4.2.1. Please help!

    @alroyhuang I download Redsn0w 0.9.6rc14 for Windows and 4.2.1 fireware. I then run Redsn0w and select the current firmware. Let it run. My iphone 4 get out of DFU mode and everything still there.
     

Share This Page