help please (Errors Upgrading to 10.5)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by zaratoga, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. zaratoga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    i have a g5 mac and i want to update to . 10.5 ox , however i load the disk inside and sudenly give an error to say shut down the computer, whithuot finish the installation , i did that and i start oven againg and i got the same error again, what can i do to load the ox 10.5 thanks.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Are you using a retail copy of Leopard? (are the discs purple?)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    Purple? I thought the retail disc was black! Anyway, it should have a great big 'X' on it. If no 'X' and gray in color, it is a mode-specific disc and will only install on the model of Mac it shipped with.

    The retail disc might still be available from Apple, but you have to call the number on the Apple Store web page to order one.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    It is black with the purple center

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. zaratoga thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #5
    i do have leopard 10.5

    i have the the disk leopard 10.5 but when i began to intalled the machine give this error to shut down the computer and did it came back to the same error.
     
  6. jeremyisweary macrumors member

    jeremyisweary

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    Where did you get Leopard from? I'm looking to upgrade my iMac G5 also from Tiger. I looked on amazon.com, but everything is over $200. I'm kinda scared of buying any disc from ebay.
     
  7. zaratoga thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #7
    from apple store it was 129 us
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    I hear you on eBay! Some people try to sell the model-specific gray colored discs when they upgrade. But, if you don't have the exact same model, the disc will not install anything.
     

Share This Page