Help Please! exporting with final cut express 4

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bs2511feist, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. bs2511feist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Hello, my name is Ben. Today my new professional camcorder the hxr-mc50u (it was about $1,500, on the low end of professional) came in the mail. I have the camera recording in AVCHD FX (24 Mbps) 1920 x 1080 / 60i / 16:9. The problem is that when i export the hd video off of final cut express 4 i'm not exactly sure how to export it so that once it is exported it will have high quality and no horizontal lines from aliasing or interlacing.
    Right now i'm trying to change little details about the export and basically guessing and checking but half the time i wont get good quality and half the time i will get the horizontal lines with motion. If anyone could please give me a few tips on specifically the best way for me to export my video it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks - Ben
     
  2. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #2
    Calling that camera "professional" is quite a stretch. It's mid to high-end consumer ... I wouldn't even classify it as "prosumer" since it doesn't even have balanced audio inputs.

    But be that as it may, you failed to tell us what your export is for. Are you going to DVD? For the web? Or for a playback device like an iPad or iPhone?

    Each destination will have its own export requirements.

    -DH
     
  3. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Yes i know it is missing a lot of professional features, but it was listed under professional on a few websites. But i guess it isn't entirely properly correct to call it professional, my bad.


    But when i'm exporting i would like to export for the web, so i just want a video that i would have on my desktop that can be opened with quicktime, i guess. I mainly would want to upload to youtube.

    Thanks - Ben
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Post some screenshots of your exports.

    Can't tell by your description.
     
  5. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Ok, this is what it looks like with movement.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    That's due to the camcorder.

    Try to output with deinterlace on.
     
  7. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Alright! When i put the de-interlace filter on the video it came out great, Thanks!

    But now when i use moving text it still get a similar problem, i tried using the de-interlace filter again on the text but that didn't work as you can see. Should i try changing the specifications for the de-interlace, cause right now i'm using what it was set to by default which is upper (odd).

    Any suggestions for what i should do for the text would be appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #8
  9. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I'm sorry, about that last post by "-DH", i don't quite understand what you mean, i think your talking about what it said in the second url, but i can't find the inspector. Could you maybe clear that up a little? Are you sure they have that in final cut express 4?

    Thanks - Ben
     
  10. jwheeler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #10
    I think he means that you should edit interlaced. Once finished, thats when you de interlace? Otherwise your de interlacing some footage twice??? But idk...
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    Yeah I meant to say deinterlace when exporting. I thought you would know if you are using final cut.
     
  12. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Oh alright, i see, well i did try using a de-interlace filter that worked, but i still don't understand how you would de-interlace when exporting instead? Is it part of the exporting options? Could someone explain please?

    Thanks - Ben
     
  13. musique macrumors regular

    musique

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #13
    I think interlaced video is the opposite of progressive scan video. The old television standard in the US was to project the odd and the even rows of pixels separately. I think this was a limitation caused by CRTs.

    There is still a lot of this out there and, because it was a standard, it's still in many video editing and conversion software programs.

    If you're using something like MPEG Streamclip to encode or convert your video files there are probably options for each conversion to "Deinterlace video" or not.

    I hope this helps. I don't have FCS in front of me so I can't confirm it, but I think there are similar options in FCP and possibly Compressor to use during conversions from one format to another.
     
  14. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    The thing is i'm recording on an AVCHD camcorder which means i dont have to convert any files because they just go directly onto final cut express.
     

Share This Page