Help please. IE for a mac, f keys don't work in FF

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bikecanada, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. bikecanada macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #1
    I'm using OS X 10.8 on my mac book

    I need to run IE to view my work website. The site is really old something like ms dos . i need to use the function keys to scroll and update. With Safari nothing loads right and with firefox the site loads, i just cant use the f keys.

    Does any one know of a IE that works with leopard, or a different internet explorer that might work, or an add on to safari or firefox that might work. Thanks

    i know about pressing fn while useing the f keys and i've also tried switching them in the control panel. This is not the problem.

    i don't want to load parallels just for this problem, i don't want windows on my mac.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Believe it or not, there is a solution for people in your situation. It's called IEs4OSX.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    10.8 :eek: wow, you must have an early beta then. Most of us are on 10.5 or 10.6 ;)
     
  4. bikecanada thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #4
    yah it was just released in 2011, it's very nice you have to get it.
    (lol now that i've check for the second time i'm running 10.5.8)

    thanks for the quick response wrldwzrd89
    this is exactly what i'm looking for, but the dl links seem to be dead on the page and lots of comments of people having errors. I'll have a second look at it after i get some sleep.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Try this link instead, seems to be live for me.
     
  6. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    OP: I can do a standalone Wine port of IE7 if you wish?
     
  7. bikecanada thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #7
    Thanks roadbloc, that would be good. I dl wine and wine bottler, but i get errors when i try and use it.
     
  8. bikecanada thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #8
    Thanks everyone, i got it to work. wrldwzrd89 that last link worked
     

Share This Page