Help please iMac or Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by marko1953, May 21, 2007.

1. marko1953 macrumors newbie

I am still in 2 minds about an iMac or a mac pro. I am a part-time Wedding Photographer. I use Canon 20D and later (I hope 5D) . Last wedding I came home with 1100 photos in Raw. I use Lightroom mostly then a little Photoshop CS2. I also use Proshow Gold to make a nice slideshow for each wedding. At the moment I have 8 weddings booked for the rest of the year. So I am not a full-time user yet. I hope to get more weddings and would like to have a good computer set up that can handle large numbers of raw files etc. I have been using a PC 2.2 with 1 Gb ram. I recently had a virus which forced me to re-format my HD.I had all important photos on external HD so no drama but I really want to switch to Mac.
    Shouild I get a Mac Pro or an iMac 20"? I have priced the following options:
    Mac Pro 2.66 with Radeon card and 1Gb Ram (upgrade later to 2Gb or 4Gb )or
    iMac 20" 2.1 with 2Gb Ram.
    I went to the Mac shop today. The 20" iMac screen was brilliant! After demo with the iMac I keep changing my mind from the Mac Pro , the iMac was so good!
    I know the Mac Pro is much more upgradable but it is about $1200 Au more expensive and thats with only 1Gb Ram. I would have to use my existing display for a while. Would the iMac be Ok for what I do now? would I be wishing I had a Mac Pro in 6 months? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. skubish macrumors 68030

skubish

Hey my wife and I are in a similar situation. She is a part time wedding photographer. She uses a 20D, hoping to upgrade to a 5D this year.

I this we are going to go with the Mac Pro.
    Here are some things to think about.
    1. CPU>>GPU for CS3. The 4 cores on the Mac Pro is going to be much better than the 2 on an iMac.
    2. The 512MB on the x1600 video card won't help much with CS3. You are better off spending more money on RAM.