Help please iphone 3gs

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by marc2011, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. marc2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #1
    hi i just got the iphone 3gs today from tmobile and wanted to know if i could jailbreak and unlock it? its on 4.2.1 and modem firmware 05.15.04 what tools would i need? is it still the same to save my ssh? its been awhile since i last done this with my old iphone :p thanks :D
     
  2. aarond12 macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
  3. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #3
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Currently, there is no unlock for baseband 05.15. However, if you really want to do it, you can go with the Ipad baseband and unlock it.

    There are consequences with this route i.e GPS might not work, warranty void etc...

    So, read before you decide what to do.
     
  5. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #5
    has any 1 went down the this route? and what consequences apart from gps not working? thanks
     
  6. Alaerian Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #6
    Have you tried looking yourself? Did you even go to the link provided? You can find these answers quite quickly if you take a moment of time to look for yourself.
     
  7. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #7
    yes i have read but i dont know :( if i just jailbreak the now with green poison will i still be able to unlock?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Only if you use redsnow to install the ipad baseband and if you do you will lose your GPS function.
    up to you.
     
  9. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #9
    so if i use green posi0n to jailbreak now i cant jailbreak again with redsnow and update my baseband for unlock?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    You can JB with GP if you want and then use redsnow just to install the ipad bb.
    And then install ultrasnow from cydia to unlock.
     
  11. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #11
    why would you complicate yourself.

    Look a the guides on: www.iClarified.com
     
  12. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #12
    i have just jailbroke my phone with greenpoison if i want to unlock will i still be able? thats all thanks
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    Greenpois0n does not give you the option to install ipad baseband. If you want to unlock, you will need to use redsn0w to install ipad baseband, then once it has that baseband. You can install ultrasn0w from Cydia to unlock your phone.
     
  14. marc2011 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #14
    i have jailbroke it with Greenpois0n and the network says orange now wtf? it was tmobile now it says orange! can i jailbreak with redsnow now i have made my mind up thanks
     

Share This Page