Help please, iPhone 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Codnhuss, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. Codnhuss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    #1
    Hi
    I have an old iPhone 3GS that is network locked. I have installed the latest version of iTunes and redsn0w and put the phone into dfu mode. The first hurdle l have encountered is that redsn0w doesn't think my phone is connected?

    Any ideas?

    Alex
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    "Network locked"...you don't think jailbreaking will unlock the 3GS, do you?
     
  3. Codnhuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    #3
    Can you do it through Cydia? The phone won't activate as l don't have the original sim from the carrier "Telia". I bought it off of an online auction site, it was cheap so not too worried. Are you knowledgable in this area? If so please explain. I should also mention that I have restored it in dfu mode via iTunes.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    Check with Telia about unlocking the phone. If you own it outright they should honor your request.

    The required info they need for unlocking your iPhone has nothing to do with the SIM, so I think its absence won't matter.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    Software unlocks depend on the baseband version (there hasn't been any for at least 3 years now and most likely won't be anymore)

    First, check what the baseband (modem firmware) is. And also check if it's the older baseband or newer baseband
     
  6. Codnhuss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    #6
    Well l have just sent them an email. I suspect they will want money.
     
  7. ielessar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    WJ
    #7
    You can check the baseband version by yourself. Settings > General > About
     
  8. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #8
    Everything you need to do is explained here:
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Don't install the iPad baseband in order to unlock unless you're 1000% sure it's compatible with your phone. If it's not it will fry all wireless radios on the board and you'd be stuck with irreversible damage to the logic board.
     
  10. iBoss101 macrumors member

    iBoss101

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Area 51
    #10
    I had the same problem as you. When I jailbroke my 3GS, I had to first use redsn0w to jb and then install SAM utlity in Cydia.
    go into itunes and see if your phone is recognized. then go to http://ipswdownloader.com/ and select iphone - 3gs - and then ios 6.0. YOU NEED TO DOWNLOAD IOS 6.0. IT WON'T WORK WITH ANY OTHER VERSION!!!
    Go into redsn0w and go to extras. click select ipsw and select the 6.0 ipsw you got earlier.
    go back to the main page and click jailbreak. BEFORE clicking next, PUT THE DEVICE IN DFU MODE FIRST!
    then it will automatically start jailbreaking, and all is well. if an options page comes up, choose the customizations you want. if i remember right, their is an unlock option. if not, just keep reading.
    in cydia add the repo http://repo.bingner.com/
    insert the new sim card, from the new carrier.
    install the SAM utility. open samprefs, go to utilities, and choose attempt unlock.
    sam will attempt to unlock your iphone!
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Sam hasn't worked in order to unlock for many many years.
    Back in 2012 though the OP could have followed your advice:D
     
  12. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #12
    Can this be used on an iPhone 4? I wouldn't mind having iOS 6 running on it one bit. Or is this only for the 3GS?
     
  13. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #13
    What exactly do you mean, jailbreak, unlock, SAM......?
     
  14. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #14
    Sorry. The downgrade part.
     
  15. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #15
    Used to be possible, but for that part, if you want to downgrade from 7.1.2, you need to be jailbroaken and you need to have SHSH blobs saved for IOS to which you want to downgrade.
     
  16. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #16
    Crap. Okay then. Thanks anyway.
     
  17. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #17
    I have found this though, apparently I could be possible to do it even without SHSH blobs, but I am just not convinced that it's really working. You don't have anything to lose, so why don't you check it out :)
    http://www.geeksn0w.it/GeekGrade/download.html
     
  18. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #18
    Tried it. Failed exactly where I knew it was going to: Installation of an older version of iTunes.
     
  19. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #19
    Well that is always a problem :)....you have to make sure that all the traces of new version of iTunes are deleted from your PC. You have to do it manually...delete everything that has to do with Apple first from Programs and than also from registry, than reboot the PC and after that you should be OK to install an older version of iTunes.
     
  20. iBoss101 macrumors member

    iBoss101

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Area 51
    #20
    i guess it all depends on what version of ios you have installed.
     
  21. WalnutSpice, Feb 2, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2016

    WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #21
    My daily phone is an AT&T iPhone 3Gs and I have t-mobile. I jailbroke my iPhone, ran the activation on redsn0w and then installed UltraSn0w. Read my Tmobile SIM right off the bat.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 2, 2016 ---
    Yes, it works on the iPhone 4 if you're running the correct baseband and iOS 6. You may also need to downgrade iTunes. Best version to be sure is 10.7. Remember to remove/ backup the library.itl folder. If not iTunes will not run
     
  22. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #22
    The iPhone 4 is NOT compatible with flashing to the iPad baseband

    Only the iPhone 3GS is. And out of all the 3GS's, only the older baseband version one is compatible with flashing to the iPad baseband
     
  23. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #23
    Alright, didn't know that. But I do know the iPhone 4 can run Ultrasn0w under iOS 6 and the correct baseband. iOS 7 is iffy then.
     
  24. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #24
    The only phone 4 baseband, Ultrasnow was able to unlock, is 1.59.00 and that was ages ago...
     
  25. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #25
    Yes, but only for baseband 1.59.00 (which was the original baseband version that the GSM iPhone shipped with)
     

Share This Page