help please! lost my website. can i recover?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by offwidafairies, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. offwidafairies macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    hi i built a website in iweb but when i upgraded computer forgot to save the dam thing.

    the site is on the web with godaddy.com

    i have downloaded the entire site to my computer.

    i want to open it up in iweb to make some changes, add some files etc.

    is this possible? fingers crossed - it will save me having to build it again from scratch.

    THANKS!!!!

    also... how do i build (and upload) a site within a site?

    eg: website.com/siteforfriendsonly
     
  2. elmo151 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I would call the GoDaddy Help desk.
    You can always do through your web pages; do a View>Text
    and get your HTML that way.

    don't understand the question
     
  3. offwidafairies thread starter macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    i did call godaddy. the problem is i have the entire site in a folder on my hdd - but i want to edit it within iweb.

    is it possible to build a second site within the main site so that only my friends can view it? so instead of having a login from the original site, my friends just type mydomain.com/friends or something...
     
  4. offwidafairies thread starter macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    ok. decided not to wait for an answer and rebuilt the site within iweb. thank god for copy and paste. for future reference it would be nice to know where iweb stores the file??
     
  5. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    Well, I know mine is under Library/Application Support/iWeb. I tried moving the file out to my external drive like you can with iPhoto, but it doesn't work like that with iWeb apparently. It would be nice to be able to point iWeb to a different location.
     

Share This Page