Help please, Mac OS Tiger X 10.4 won't install on my macpro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mmesarina, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. mmesarina macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I bought a macpro from B&H about 6 months ago and they never sent me the MacOS Disks with the computer. I forgot all about it, and now I have the need to reinstall the OS. So I bought a Tiger OS 10.4 disks, brand new, but when I start the computer with the disk, a window tells me that "Mac OS 10.4 can't be installed in this computer".
    I have read something about that the OS that comes with a computer is not the same as the OS sold on stores. And that I should use the DVD that came with my computer. So am I stranded here?
    I will try to get the disks from B&H , but I am not sure this will be successful.
    It seems to me that it should be completely possible to load a new OS on the system but how?

    And on another topic:
    Do you guys think that the Leopard OS will work on the macpro g3 500 Mhz dual core? If that is so, maybe I should just wait until Leopard comes out

    Any suggestions?

    thanks

    -Malena
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The discs you bought were more then likely the PowerPC 10.4.6 installer discs.

    You have to get the machine specific discs for Tiger. Leopard will resolve this issue.

    You mean a Power Mac G4 Dual 500 MHz, right?
     
  3. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    You need the original system disks. Tiger for Intel was never released in a retail package.

    What the heck is a macpro g3 500MHZ dual core, anyway? It sounds like three machines welded together.
     
  4. mmesarina thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #4
    thank yoyu

    Yes, I meant G4. I will buy Leopard then.

    -Malena
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Yeah...

    Leopard's system requirements are a bit higher than your rig. Don't expect all the fancy stuff to work like it does on the newer machines.
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    Leopard won't run on your computer without a bit of hacking around.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    That's the fun part. ;)
     
  8. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #8
    This thread is just messed up due to misinformation from the original poster. I don't think I even know where to start.

    Okay, back to the original thread, when you said you bought a MacPro from B&H, were you referring to the same MacPro, which is actually a Power Mac G4 500Mhz? If you are, then Tiger (MacOS 10.4.x) should work on it.
     

Share This Page