Help please - New MBP choice

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Geneva Red, Apr 15, 2010.

1. Geneva Red macrumors newbie

Hi all, newbie here and apologies if I'm asking something already covered.

I'm new to the macworld and have been holding out for the new MBP, but not sure which one to purchase. Currently have a five year old dell, which works ok but is slow, out of date etc. I'm not a big computer user, but this purchase will be my only home computer and I hope will last for 5 plus years. My main uses are internet, photos (little bit of editing), little bit of gaming (mainly football manager 2010), extensive use of itunes in tandem with apple tv. Will be used predominantly at home, but good to be pretty portable.

really like the look and feel of the MBP and looking at the 15". Does it make any sense for me to upgrade to the 500GB 7200rpm?

Am I being a bit naive paying the Apple premium given what I will do with it?

Any advice will be most welcome.

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

For the photos and iTunes (and Apple TV streaming), the 7200RPM drive will be a good choice.

Otherwise the 2.4GHz i5 (base configuration) should be enough. The high-resolution display will be nice for the photos, but otherwise both are good choices.

3. Naxul macrumors newbie

# There is no way we can guarantee that it will last for 5 years, dont do anything crazy, only thing I can say about it.

# I dont know much about gaming on a Macbook Pro, but I think you should be allright if you buy this MBP.

# I will be ordering my MBP at the end of the month, if the 500GB 7200 RPM fits your buget, why not?

# You can get better specs in other devices which run Windows, if your fined with that you should check that out, its cheaper too.

I aslo recommend you check out the BTO options for your screen. It has a nice resolution bump.

4. runebinder macrumors 6502a

runebinder