Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

adrix7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
hi, absolute newbie here,

I've just enrolled Programming fundamentals in C++ this summer

I've read that Objective C++ is a good developer to learn.. i have a macbook laptop (leopard 10.5.2)

now what do i need and where do i find it to get me started :)

thank you for taking time guys more power to you all!

hope i'll enjoy and learn C++ basics thi summer it really looks hard:-(

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
You mean the Objective C++ language? It's not a good first language to learn. In fact, it's not really a separate language. It's an idiom that mixes Objective C and C++, but the mixture is somewhat restricted, and to understand what's allowed and what isn't, you need to know both Objective C and C++ fairly well. As a language, it's really meant for carpetbagging C++ programmers moving over into Objective C.

I think you perhaps mean development environment? If this class you're taking has any taste, it'll all be in UNIX, writ and compiled in the terminal, but I'm betting it'll be Windows which means Visual Studio which means a heavyweight non-portable IDE that's almost as much effort to learn as the language itself.

adrix7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
hi, yes its in visual studio... is there a version for mac? or what do you suggest i use for learning C++ in my class using macbook..

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
If the class is in Visual Studio, then you'd need VMWare or Parallels running Windows. Visual Studio doesn't exist for Mac.