Help please - problem unlocking 1st Gen iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by parasky, May 20, 2009.

  1. parasky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #1
    Help Please!

    I just jailbroke my 1st gen iPhone using Quickpwn and it looks like everything worked great, cydia and installer are now on my phone. However, the main reason I wanted to do this was to unlock my phone and it appears that never happened. I popped a T-Mobil sim card in my phone and the phone said to connect to Itunes. When I did, Itunes said that I was using a non-supported sim card. So it looks like I'm doing something wrong but I don't know what.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    Jailbreaking and unlocking are two different things. Search the forums as there are tons of threads with info on unlocking your iPhone.
     
  3. parasky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #3
    Yes, I know the difference. But I thought quickpwn did both?

    Anybody? I thought that running quickpwn both jailbroke and unlocked the phone but it looks like it only jailbroke my phone and didn't unlock it. Does anybody have an idea of what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    If it is a 2G then you need to download "bootneuter" from cydia. That should unlock the phone.
     
  5. instaxgirl macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    I unlocked my boyfriend's 2G a month ago with quickpwn.

    I didn't install Cydia though, just hit the unlock box. Can't remember what I did but handily I just followed the tutorial on iClarified.

    Google iClarified, go into tutorials and find the one for unlock 2G with quickpwn. Follow instructions :)
     
  6. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #6
    You should restore the phone to an unactivated state first. I did this by using DFU mode to make sure it was clean.

    Then run the QuickPwn process and you should find the unlock works OK.
     
  7. parasky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #7
    Thanks Everybody! I finally got it to work. I went to iclarified and followed the pwnage tool tutorial and that finally made it work.

    One more question. Pwnage restored my phone so now when I connect it to iTunes it is asking whether I want to set it up as a new phone or restore it from a back up. I think the backup is from my other iPhone, though. So should I set it up as a new phone even if it isn't activated from AT&T?

    Thanks.
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #8
    Set it up as a new phone. You had the option whether or not to "hactivate" it when you were going through pwnage tool.
     
  9. parasky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #9
    Thanks, I obviously had no clue what I was doing!
     

Share This Page