HELP PLEASE! With a macbook bought on ebay.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by compaintballer, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. compaintballer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #1
    Ok so heres the deal.

    I bought an ausome black macbook no ebay and i love it. It arived in perfect condition and basically new. The batter cycle count is in its 40s.

    The thing is that it did not come with any iLife apps and its shuld have shuld it of?

    It does have leapord so is there anyway i could get these apps?

    It is still under warranty.

    thanks!!!
     
  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    Did you get any Apple CD/DVD's with the unit?
     
  3. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #3
    Did it come with grey install discs? If so, iLife should be on there.
    If you only got a Leopard disc with an X on the front and a purple background, I'd contact the seller.
     
  4. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    i did not recieve any discs.
    if he doesnt send them to me could i use a friends?
     
  5. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #5
    He should send you them. At least the grey install discs. If you have to re-install the OS you're a bit screwed.

    You could use a friend's disc if they have the same model MacBook as you.
     
  6. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    It was probably a Tiger machine that was upgraded to Leopard. Which means they used the retail box. So no iLife apps.
     
  7. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #7
    Wow 40 Cycle Count...

    for a brand new MB??? It's probably new to you, but that's a rather high cycle count. I had a MB 2.16GHz for 6 months and it had a 20 cycle count. It sounds like you got a BlackBook 2.2GHz with 160GB HDD, then there should be the grey install disks, the iLife '06 and iWorks '06 or they should be on the HD unless the original owner "cleared" the HD before shipping. If it's the newer BlackBook 2.4 Penryn 250GB you would only receive the grey install disks, and Leopard would already be installed. Post your specs PLEASE. Also check your eBay posting to determine if it was being sold "as is" or if the install disks were included. :confused:
     
  8. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    why would i be screwed?
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    You... don't have it. Unless you have your own Leopard standalone; but then you wouldn't get iLife apps back.
     
  10. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #10
    yes you are right it is a 160 gb hard drive, 2.2 ghz with 2 gigs of ram but it was 1 gig stock i believe.

    my friend said that he probobly whiped the hard drive before sending it to me wich eliminated ilife.
     
  11. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    Do you never unplug the thing? I've got an MBP with a 12 month old battery with 300 cycles and most of the time I have it plugged in.
     
  12. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    Yeah, I know...

    I just don't like running into "low-battery" issues right in the middle of lecture!!! Believe me it's happened at the most inopportune times. :eek:
     
  13. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #13
    so i should try to get the disks?? and what if i cant get them?
     
  14. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #14
    Use your friend's disk...

    if it gets down to it. Sounds like you got a great BlackBook! :cool:
     
  15. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #15
    By all means, yes - ask for the disks that shipped with the unit. Otherwise resign yourself to the fact that you will have to purchase a new set for the OS, and one for the iLife apps.
     
  16. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
  17. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #17
    Because, as stated before, iLife does not come on the Retail Panther or Tiger disks. So you would have to buy iLife and Panther as 2 separate purchases. You cannot purchase the grey bundled disks separately. You could try whining and begging to Apple for a replacement set.

    Your seller ripped you off. The bundled disks are part and parcel of the machine. Maybe they sold them separately on eBay, which would be piracy, in effect. Your other alternative is to find someone else who is selling the bundled disks for that exact same model on eBay.
     
  18. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #18
    sorry if i sound like a "nube" but im new at this lol.

    I am running leapord so why would i get panther?

    And i sent the seller a message he has been very nice and for my amaxing laptop i only paid 960 so i wouldnt say i got ripped off.
     
  19. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #19
    You didn't get rip off, but the grey install disks are part of the machine purchase so they should be included.

    I have no idea why CanadaRAM is talking about Panther?:confused:
     
  20. compaintballer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #20
    yea i dont know what that was all about either haha

    so if i get the grey install disks i will get ilife and i will stay in leapord?
     
  21. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #21
    It's likely that the install discs that came with your MacBook were for Tiger and would've had the previous version of iLife on them (06). If you can get them off the seller, you can install iLife like you would install any other application.

    If you want the latest iLife (08), you'll have to buy a retail copy ($79).
     
  22. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #22
    did you have a time machine backup by chance? I bought my mbp used and it had no ilife but when I reinstalled everything with time machine my ilife apps magically appeared!!!:cool:
     
  23. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #23
    Well, if your backup was from another machine that had iLife installed, of course iLife would be there.
     
  24. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #24
    You can contact Apple...

    and request the (2) Mac OS X install disks, just not sure how much it will cost, but they can ship right to your door. Just make sure that you give them the specs on your BlackBook 2.2GHz 160GB, and I heard the OS X install disks run about $17 plus tax, call Apple Tech Support 1-800-275-2273.
     
  25. marold280 macrumors 6502

    marold280

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #25
    disc

    hi, you need the discs, i had the same problem, i bought a white one. it had leopard installed on it, and it came with the tiger discs.
    i asked the seller.
    you have to put in the disc, boot up as if you were installing tiger, but, you have to click on customize, and you can download selected applications, which in mine and your case, is ilife!
    another amazing thing i managed to do, my friend got a brand new one (bastard), with ilife 08. i got ilife 06 off the discs. i took mine over to his house, and we connected the two macbooks over the network.
    i went into his applications folder, and actually dragged all the 08 ilife apps into my computer, and i had ilife 08! it was fantastic!
    dont know if that will help or not !
    cheers
     

Share This Page