help please!!!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by howtouseiphone, May 20, 2012.

  1. howtouseiphone macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #1
    Do I need a micro sim to setup an iphone? Please!! A simple answer will do,I just really need to know.. please?
     
  2. iRooney macrumors 6502

    iRooney

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
  3. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #3
    Its going to be a GSM..
     
  4. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    If the phone is not yet activated, then yes you will require either an active micro SIM or CDMA carrier plan (for CDMA models).

    If you have a GSM model, then just ask a friend if you can borrow their SIM as it really only takes a few minutes.
     
  5. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #5
    So I really need a micro sim to set it up?
     
  6. raychelabcdefg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    #6
    Also depends on the generation of the phone. 3G/3GS use regular sims.
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    also what firmware, if you have firmware that can be jailbroken than redsn0w can activate it for you.
     
  8. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #8
    For the activation process, yes.
     
  9. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #9
    How about on a 4s?

    ----------

    Can a normal setup do it?

    ----------

    How is the activation process different from the setup? Thanks
     
  10. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #10

    He means that the iPhone 3G and 3GS used regular sized SIM cards; whereas, the iPhone 4 and 4S use micro SIM cards.

    And no, the iPhone REQUIRES an active SIM card (or carrier plan for CDMA) to activate. If you are fishing for us to give you some super secret way of activating one without a carrier without jail breaking then you will be searching for a long time.
     
  11. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #11
    Oh.. Sorry. Didn't noticed that.
    And sorry, I didn't mean to make it sound fishy.. Sorry for not knowing this kind of things and make my self look more dumb. I just wanted everything right when I buy my iphone
     
  12. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    I didn't mean to make it sound rude, sorry about that.
     
  13. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #13
    No worries :) Thanks for the help btw.
     
  14. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #14
    Iphone 4s required the micro sim type card.

    Without it you would stop at the early stages of the set up stage un hooked to your iTunes.

    Hooked up to iTunes you will need it to activate.

    In the Uk micro sims are pretty easy to order online from your chosen network or like i did, just pop into a high street network outlet. I use 02 who basically supplied me the micro sim in store, who then made a phone call and moved my number and tariff over from my full sized sim to the micro sim which became active in just under 1 hour.

    Happy days !!
     
  15. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #15
    Thanks!! So even though I hook it up on itunes it won't finish the setup? Sorry, i didn't get the meaning of "un hooked to your itunes" .I don't mind buying a micro sim, its very easy to buy it here in the philippines, my only problem is im buying my iphone at hong kong/macau soon and its going to be the factory unlocked one. while im staying there, i will buy the micro sim, because based on your replies i really need to have it.. and now i having problems if it will affect my iphone if i came back here in the philippines and buy the local gsm micro sim here..
     
  16. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Yes, you always need a sim or micro sim to activate a GSM iphone.
     
  18. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #18
    Ok, Thanks!! Great help

    ----------

    OK, thanks!! great help :)
     
  19. Nikhil123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #19
    Hi friends i watch out all your reviews and i am agreed with you and Yes my friend you must be need a micro sim to activate your apple iphone.
     
  20. howtouseiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    #20
    Yeah, thanks! Great help :)
     

Share This Page