Help please?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CalCrickson, Aug 31, 2014.

1. CalCrickson macrumors newbie

So im getting really stressed out at the minute, Im new to MBP's And i have a mid 2010 model with 8gb Ram and a 2.4ghz Intel I5, It was being really slow so i tried to do a factory reset which didnt work i formatted my HDD then when i click on Reinstall Mac Os X Mavericks i get the error Could not find installation information for this machine, So i tried to do an internet restore the one were you click Command-Option-R But when i enter my passcode for my wifi the box moves side to side which im guessing means incorrect passcode even though it was right, have also tried to boot from usb with a mavericks installer on it but i just get a circle with a line through it, What can i do? and could someone tell me how i could make a bootable usb with Os X On it using a windows computer as that is all i have to use now?

2. Blackstick macrumors 6502

Blackstick

Are you near an Apple Store? If you are, the Geniuses have access to a diagnostic toolkit that can assess your Mac in about 10 minutes and if need be, they can reinstall the OS in another 10m if they have to. It's free, local service providers can do the same, http://locate.apple.com

3. CalCrickson thread starter macrumors newbie

Unfortunately im not near an apple store, is there no way i can create a bootable usb for Mac using windows?:(

4. Blackstick macrumors 6502

Blackstick

I've never attempted to do so under windows. If internet recovery isn't behaving, I'd give 1-800-275-2273 a call and have AppleCare go through some more troubleshooting steps. They have great tools to check your machine as well.

5. CalCrickson thread starter macrumors newbie