help please

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wolfamI, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. wolfamI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #1
    Ok I guys I have googled this like 80,000 times and not gotten and anything helpful back. So if this is somthing simple and I just missed it please forgive me.

    I am running boot camp on my imac I have a radeon 2600 HD, 2.6 ghz duel core, 2 gigs of ram. I am wanting to play counter strike 1.6, but as soon as I launch the game I see the loading screen with the ppl on then its just stops running. No error/crash messages it just stop running. I do ctrl+alt+delete and its not running.

    I have tried running using steam launch options to force to run in directx 7 but still not working.

    what I find so confusing is the fact that I can run Warhamer online and COD4through steam like butter, but I can't run a game thats 5 years old?

    oh and btw I am running xp pro with SP3.

    thank you in advanced
     
  2. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    Try running it in compatibility mode, if possible. You may have to use Parallels or VM Ware fusion and run it that way, assuming it can be achieved that way.
     
  3. wolfamI thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #3
    I have tried it and got it to work through crossover, but it looked like garabage. I still can't understand why call of duty 4 through steam runs perfectly fine with virtualized windows but counter strike 1.6 will not. I ahve alos tried compatability mode and it didn't work.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Contact whoever supports the game you bought.
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5

    It simply crashes to desktop eh? Perhaps it's an XP issue. Do you have the latest DirectX 9 installed?I've had crashes to desktop related to not having the latest DX9 installed. Worth a shot anyway. http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=2da43d38-db71-4c1b-bc6a-9b6652cd92a3&DisplayLang=en
     
  6. wolfamI thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #6
    It maybe a directx issue, but I have directx9 bc warhammer and COD4 need it to run. Yes, I checked and i have lastest version.
     

Share This Page