HELP!! Problem with 27"iMac. Disk utility can't repair disk

Discussion in 'iMac' started by danmc00, Nov 26, 2011.

1. danmc00 macrumors regular

I came home from vacation and my iMac was locked on the screen saver. I held the power button down to turn it off and now it wants me to set up computer again. I tried to repair disk first, but it's says disk utility can't repair this disk. Back up as many files as possible, reformat disk, and restore your backed up files. I am new to Mac and don't know how to back up the files while I am on this screen. I just need to back up some pictures that I recently loaded into iPhoto. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Another bad thing is that I never setup time machine. Can I still back up my photos and iTunes account?

2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

I had my iMac do something similar although it did not want me to re-set-it-up again. Disk utility could not repair this disk either. I ended up purchasing DiskWarrior, which is a disk repair utility. They will ship you a CD/DVD that you can boot from to run it. I had great results and it repaired my file system. I think mine was a result from a power outage.

There is a file in /var/db called .AppleSetupDone that OSX looks for on startup. If this file does not exist (or for some reason OS X can't locate it) it will run the startup wizard. It sounds like the file cannot be read due to a problem with the file system. Do you have an external hard disk you can install OS X onto and try to access your photos to save them?

3. danmc00 thread starter macrumors regular

I do have a 2TB external hard drive that I backed my pictures up every once in a while. I haven't done it in a while though.
    How do I go about installing OSx on external hard drive back up pics? Sorry but I am not very computer savvy.

4. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

5. wessew macrumors member