[Help]Programming with airport and wireless

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by hpflea, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. hpflea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    Hi, guys
    I want write a application to search the airport base station, join the network with the password and search the printers in the network. How can I implement it?
    Because the apple80211.framework and airportconfig.framework are both private framework, and I also can't use the reverse engineered header (e.g. apple80211.h).

    Can anybody help me? Much appreciation even though a few clews.
     
  2. Manty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #2
    You can and should use the Apple80211.h header for connecting. Just link your project with the Apple80211 framework (yes it's private but you can link it).

    If you need some more details just PM me.
     
  3. hpflea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #3
    Thank you. I wanna try.

    ---------------
     
  4. hpflea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #4
    Manty,

    Why are the values of noise and signal so big?
    WirelessNetworkInfo:
    {10 65446 65468 MAC: [00-16-01-AE-16-E9] 100 0x11 2 @@}
    {06 65446 65486 MAC: [00-B0-0C-00-E7-9A] 100 0x11 4 Test}

    You can see the [noise signal] value: [65446 65468], [65446 65486]. Isn't the signal strength in the range of 0 to 100?

    And another question is how can I specific my ip address if it doesn't obtain dynamiclly when I join the network?

    Much appreciation to you.

     
  5. Manty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #5
    I've never used the signal strength but a quick Google search found gears - Google Code, and it seems that the signal strength is in dBm.
    You need to use SystemConfiguration.framework to change Network Preferences values. But I'm not sure what is the best way to check if you got a dynamic IP or not.
     
  6. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #6
    The easiest way is to check your IP. If it starts with 169.254, you have a self-assigned IP(unless your dhcp server is serving out those addresses, which it shouldn't be....)
     
  7. Manty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #7
    That is if you are joining an Ad hoc network...
    Getting your ip can be done with getifaddrs() if that helps you.
     
  8. hpflea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

Share This Page