help!!! questions regarding the use of fusion 2

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by flashcrosma, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. flashcrosma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    queens, new york
    #1
    i have installed windows xp pro through fusion 2 in my 15' macbook pro, the memory it gets shared is 512mb and the hard drive gets 40GB. is it enough to run accounting and office softwares with total satisfaction? secondly, can i run windows compatible program through the use of fusion 2 without running windows os everytime?:confused: does that way save power to extend power life? additionally, i just found that the white background color of the accounting program really hurts my eyes.:eek: is there certain ways to make white background color look moderate to the eyes?
    thx so much for the post of the above issues anyone makes!
     
  2. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #2
    Use the task manager to see how much ram you are using.

    Instead of Fusion you can use Crossover Mac. Running 2 OS will for eat up more battery.

    Have you try Unity Mode in Fusion? It gives you a sense that you are running outlook/accounting software in native OS X mode.
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    But you are still running XP in the background, eating up the same processes and such.
     
  4. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #4
    Of course. That's why I said gives you "the sense" :D
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I was adding to, in order to make sure it is clear to the OP, not trying to correct you.

    OP, Unless there is an option in the accounting program's options, I think you are out of luck as far as changing the background color.
     
  6. flashcrosma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    queens, new york
    #6
    thx, guys. i used unity before, but i can't find out how to make the windows os show up later...:eek: can u just tell me how to get windows os back after clicking unity?
     
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Cmd-Tab to Fusion, then from the View menu, IIRC.
     
  8. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #8
    Got you! :)
     
  9. flashcrosma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    queens, new york
    #9
    hey, guys, any additional tip for the white background color?
     

Share This Page