Help quick!!! (reuse 2x 256 MB ram sticks?)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TSE, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    Well, I gave up on my other slot loading iMac... :mad:

    I want to know though, I have 2x 256 MB ram sticks from my MacBook, can I put these in my iMac 333MHZ Tray loader since I heard somewhere ram is backwards compatible?
     
  2. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #2
    No you can not. The MacBook has DDR2 SO-DIMMs which are 200 pin sticks, the slot loading iMac takes 168 pin SDRAM which are full sized DIMMs, and not small outline.
     
  3. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #3
    I am not putting them into my slot loader, but my tray loader instead.
     
  4. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #4
    The answer is still the same. All iMac G3's take PC100 SDRAM which is 168 pin. They are full size DIMMs, not small like the MacBook's. There are other reasons other then physical parameters why it will not work, but they are not important as the MacBook's RAM wont even fit into the iMac's memory banks.

    MacBook's RAM DDR2 SO-DIMM (200 pin):
    [​IMG]

    iMac G3 RAM PC100 SDRAM (168 pin):
    [​IMG]
     
  5. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #5
    Oh, will PC 133 full size ram or a 256 MB piece work in an iMac trayloader that was in the slotloader before?
     
  6. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #6
    Yes. If it worked in the Slot loader, it will work in the Tray loader. They both take the same type of memory.
     
  7. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #7
    No offense or anything, but I have the ram from the slot loader right here and the tray loader opened and all, and the memory sticks for the tray loader are A LOT smaller.
     
  8. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #8
  9. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #9
    Oh, okay. :(

    Guess im never going to upgrade to mac os x...
     
  10. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #10
    Well that is sad, but at least you can look at the pretty pictures.
     

Share This Page