Help: RAM slots damaged on new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sam Spade, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. Sam Spade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #1
    I purchased 2 8GB sticks of Crucial RAM to upgrade my new late-2013 iMac. However, both sticks appear to have flattened the soft plastic tab in the RAM slots and (obviously) won't seat properly. The notch in the Crucial RAM appears to have been slightly smaller than was needed to clear the tab and instead of sliding over the tab, the RAM module literally just flattened the tabs. I am absolutely shocked at how soft the plastic is on the tabs.

    So, I've got a brand new iMac just a few days old and two damaged RAM slots. What should my course of action be?
     
  2. Erphern macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
  3. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #3
    Sure you didn't try to insert them flipped the wrong way?
     
  4. Djay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #4
    Have you attempted to replace the original memory sticks? Will they fit and function?

    I just added 4x4 Gb sticks of Crucial with no fitment or function issues but it was for a late 2009 iMac i5.

    I have heard other reports that OWC sticks have fit the slots better in some isolated reports.

    Best of luck getting this issue fixed. :(
     
  5. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #5
    No, I inserted them the correct way.

    Not sure if Apple or Crucial is to blame here. I know for certain that the plastic tab in the RAM slot is way too soft and flattened out with much too little pressure.

    Should I just return the machine? Pursue Crucial? Apple?
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    if you damaged the slots replacing ram Apple won't accept a return.
     
  7. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #7
    Ok, I went to my office this morning and took some OWC sticks out of our late 2012 iMac. These sticks fit fine in the 2 remaining undamaged slots in the 2013 machine.

    There are 2 problems here:
    1. The Crucial memory is off a little bit in terms of physcial specs.
    2. The plastic tabs in the RAM slots of the 2013 machines are much too soft.

    Be careful replacing memory in these machines.
     
  8. omeletpants macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #8
    Why should Apple fix your mistake? You gambled and lost. Own up to it
     
  9. Erphern macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    #9
    Still waiting to see a picture of the damage. Would you please post something so we can see exactly what you're talking about? Thanks.
     
  10. Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #10
    there are others on amazon complaining about crucial ram being "too thick" and not fitting properly in the new iMacs. You know getting any help from crucial on your new machine wont happen though. Sorry to hear.
     
  11. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #11
    It sounds like you bought the wrong RAM and then tried to force it in. Your solution is to pay for a logic board replacement.
     
  12. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #12
    Unfortunately, I was unaware of this issue. I've used Crucial RAM in the past with no problems. But, I can confirm that the two Crucial sticks that I have are indeed too thick for the current machine. The previous RAM I purchased was OWC and in hindsight should have went with it again, but I ended up buying Crucial because it was less expensive.
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    RAM specifications are highly standardized. I really doubt Crucial is noncompliant. Also, thickness would not cause the DIMM to flatten the plastic tab. Where are the pics we've been asking for?
     
  14. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #14
    Crucial guarrantee their memory is Apple compatible.

    Get in touch with them and ask them to fix it if it is their memory at fault.
     
  15. Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #15

    I actually had to refuse delivery myself on the crucial ram..some people had no problems other complained it was too thick... they were lucky to get it in and it was a serious pain.

    I went ahead and ordered owc ram yesterday to play it safe but yeah more expensive....feel for you man especially on a brand new computer.
     
  16. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #16
    I'm not sure if "too thick" is the correct description or not, but there is definitely a problem with the fitment. The modules that came in the machine from Apple fit perfectly, as does the OWC, but the Crucial does not.
     
  17. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #17
    I assume you are talking about the thin piece of plastic running through the middle not the little flexible plastic ribbon used to pop the RAM out. If that is the case you can position the iMac so you have the best possible visibility of the RAM slot. Then use a small precision screwdriver (like those for glasses) and bend the slot back into shape.
     
  18. Chipster21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #18
    according to this review http://www.macworld.co.uk/mac/masterclass/?articleid=3418897 Crucial Memory are fine with the new iMac, and I've got similiar kit from Crucial 2x4GB (CT2C4G3S160BMCEU). My iMac will be delivered Tomorrow, so what's your advise, should I try to insert this modules or not.

    Thanks
     
  19. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #19
    No. Too many people here in this forum in recent days reporting similar problems with Crucial RAM (search this iMac forum). I wouldn't attempt to install Crucial modules again in the iMac as the plastic tabs in the RAM slots are so soft they will easily damage before you know it.

    My suggestion, based on my own experience and other reports from forum members, is to purchase the OWC memory. There appears to be little or no problems with it fitting properly in the iMac.
     
  20. Stageshoot macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #20
    Have to stand up for Crucial

    Its always been spot on in every machine I have used it in,

    Fitted 2x 8Gb sticks in my 2013 iMac a couple of days ago, went straight in no problem as always work 100% as always.

    I feel for those having a problem, with all products there is always a bad apple somwhere, but I dont see the point in dissing the entire range and saying no one should use it, thats just crazy.

    Its a very good product at a reasonable price, and it sounds like there have been a couple of bad ones recently, which you get with anything!
     
  21. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #21
    If Crucial states that RAM is Apple compatible then its their fault honestly. RAM is user replacable on 27" iMacs so you didnt void any warranty. This almost sounds as a reason to sue them id theyre not willing to acknowledge manufacturing or design fault.

    I would try to carefully bend the tab back. If its still squashed then maybe try putting a little bit of scotch tape or sth so it leans nicely.

    Feel sorry for you I hope you will sort it out. Try to find other people who have same troubles and send a collective complaint to Crucial,demand damages.
     
  22. buster84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #22
    I see the issue, but as for the ram slots being soft. I cant say from personal experience but when i slipped my cruscial ram in it slipped right in without any hickups. You have to make sure you lift tab all the way up, then slide the ram in place then push down on it till its seated in the slot then, repeat for the rest of the ram and close it back up.

    If you just slid the ram inside the slot without pushing down to make sure its 100% seated in the slot and you then you try and shut the ram slow you would break the ram slots since the ram wasn't actually seated.

    My guess is that its not Crucial's ram issue, but a user issue. Most people are used to the standard slots, this one pulls out and pushing back in. It's also possible that the ram is a little big, but without being their its hard to say what really happened to the thread starters computer.

    I bought mine directly from the crucial site and it was made in china. It's been running great, no high temps or anything. The ram slipped right in and fit like a glove.
     
  23. Sam Spade thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #23
    There are enough problems with Crucial being discussed in this forum, including my own experience, that is seems "crazy" to me to take the chance with Crucial, especially when there are other brands out there, namely OWC, that are presenting NO fitment problems.

    ----------

    I have no doubt that some are not having any issues with the Crucial product, but others are. In my case, I can say with certainty that my problem had nothing to do with not knowing how to use the folding RAM slots correctly. The DIMM's just simply do not fit properly. I can compare, side by side, the fitment of the Crucial RAM to the factory Apple RAM and the OWC. Both the Apple and OWC fit perfectly with no issues.
     
  24. Chipster21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #24
    Could you please tell me if your Crucial ram is made in China or USA, as of this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1650257&page=2, it's seems to be a problem with those modules made in USA.

    Thanks
     
  25. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #25
    What part number did you order from Crucial?
     

Share This Page