HELP- Registry Virus?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by brittnae1986, May 9, 2008.

1. brittnae1986 macrumors newbie

:confused:

Okay, first of all I'm a novice to any sort of virus on a mac. I know pc's have to reformat quite a bit...

This is what happened

For the last couple of weeks while using Safari web browser I would occasionally get this weird message that looked official from my OS system about safari needing to have an anti-virus program installed..because they detected a threat. I couuld click "go to" or "close" or quit or whatever.

When the message would pop up...it looks identical to ANY macintosh OS system message...and it minimizes your current safari browser window to a half inch in the upper left corner.

The first two times it happened i force quit Safari....the third time i examined it all over and figured.."Okay it must be a mac message" and clicked "CLOSE", however, when i did it sent me to this site and the browswer window showed me a blue and red very jouvenile looking site with a bar "Scanning" or "Downloading" something in the middle with a percent of time left and wanted me to wait till it was finished (*keep in mind my download manager window never popped up!! this was all contained in the browser*) I immediately clicked the window closed, quit safari and disconnected my net connection...than shut off my airport. :/ :(

What i was told by someone who had something similar happen is that it is a registry virus that downloads something to your computer and.......thats all i know.

Is this easy/possible to happen on a mac? If so how do i know? What *IS* a registry virus?

Can anyone give me any information?! I don't even know what to watch for...if they want my bank account lol...have fun with my $50 :p

Oy :( People need to put their brains towards something far more useful than virus making...

2. netnothing macrumors 68040

netnothing

Sounds like just a bad site using Javascript to try to get you to install something.