HELP reinstalling OS X

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
I just recently purchase a Macbook Pro. I wanted to wipe the hard drive and reinstall the OS. But for some reason, I can not boot from the DVD. I keep getting a message stating that I need to restart the laptop. When I do it just states the same message again. I have tried holding down the option and then I choice the mac OS X install disc with no luck. I curreny have aMVP 17thin display.

Any help would be greatly appricate
 

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
I purchased online from apple. But I decide to purchase a larger HD and I swiped the old one out and installed the new one. I'm using the discs that came with the MBP. At first I thought it might of been the HD but when I insert the old HD back in I can boot into the OS but just can't boot from the DVD. It doesn't appear to be the superdrive because in the OS I can play DVDs and install my mac office CDs. I'm am stomped at the problem.:confused::confused::confused:
 

~J~

macrumors 6502
Jul 27, 2007
447
0
3rd Rock from the sun
Try holding in the "C" key when you boot. Either that or hold "OPTION", those usually bring up a boot selection menu, from which you can boot from the superdrive. Hope that helps!
 

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
Thanks for your reply. I tried holding down the option key and I do get a choice of either the HD or Mac OS X install CD. When I click on the Mac OS X CD it sits there a a few seconds and then I get a message stating that I need to restart the computer. This is what I get all the time I try to boot from the CD. I can boot from the HD no problem. I ratherly new to Mac, but is there a option in the bios or elsewhere where the boot from CD option might be disabled??
 

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
Just tried holding the "C" key at start up and I get the same message. The background gets darker and the message reads "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for serveral seconds or press the restart button."
 

miniConvert

macrumors 68040
That's a kernel panic... do you still have the problem if you hold down C during boot with the old HDD installed? If so, I guess the discs could be damaged/corrupted, in which case you'd need to contact Apple for replacements.
 

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
No it won't work either. I can boot into the old HD with prolem. I even tried clicking on the Mac OS X install icon from the OS to see if that would work but it just restarts and the same message appears. One question, my wife left her install CDs at her office so I am using mine. I have a MBP 15" and the one I'm have the trouble with his her which is a 17". Could this be the problem? Could the install CD be specific for different size LCD on the MBP?
 

dacreativeguy

macrumors 68020
Jan 27, 2007
2,014
210
Is the computer whose install DVD you are trying to use Intel or PowerPC? An intel based Mac will immediately kernel panic if you try to boot from a PowerPC install disc. Sounds like that is what's happening. Just use the install discs that came with that computer and you'll be fine.
 

macwifi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 28, 2007
6
0
Both are intel based Macbook Pros, just one of them is a 15" and the other is a 17". The install CD I'm using now is from my 15" intel based macbook pro. I guess I'll wait and see once my wife gets to work and brings the DVDs that came with it home.

Thanks everyone for thier suggestions and help today.