Resolved Help remove Apple Diagnostic App/Deamon

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by crjackson2134, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. crjackson2134, Jan 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2015

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    A few weeks ago I purchased AppleCare+ on my new iPad Air 2. Becsuse I purchased a month after owning it, I had to let Apple run a diagnostic test over the air by way of an emailed link.

    The diagnostics went well, but it left behind an annoying background process that pops up randomly and I can't find a way to kill this thing permanantly.

    Can someone tell me how to remove this process?

    Thanks...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Aspasia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Halfway between the Equator and North Pole
    #2
    Is your setting under Diagnostics & Usage "automatically send"? If so, maybe switching to "don't send" will fix the issue.
     
  3. crjackson2134 thread starter macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    No, that's turned off. I always turn that off on all of my iDevices. I double checked to make sure. It's unrelated to that as far as I can tell.
     
  4. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #4
    Have you tried resetting your iPhone?

    Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button while pressing and holding the Home button on the front. When you see the Apple logo, release both buttons.
     
  5. crjackson2134 thread starter macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    No, my iPhone is just fine.

    I did however reset my iPad in the same manner but it didn't fix the problem.
     
  6. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #6
    That's accessed through safari, so double check your safari tabs (and possibly close them all).

    I bet you have a tab open which is trying to load diags://xxxxx
     
  7. crjackson2134 thread starter macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    Yeah, that's not it. I even cleared out all cookies and website data and it still does this.
     
  8. squeller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #8
    I may be stating the obvious here, but completely restoring the iPad via iTunes would probably get rid of it. If you absolutely don't want to do that, then maybe you could call Apple and convince them to run the same test again. Maybe it will do its final clean up properly on the second try...
     
  9. OS X Dude macrumors 6502a

    OS X Dude

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    This. A restore will totally eradicate a software problem in Apple's eyes, if it persists after that then you're looking at a whole-unit replacement.
     
  10. crjackson2134 thread starter macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Well strangely enough it has stopped with 8.1.3 update. Thanks for the suggestions.
     

Share This Page