Help replacing MacBook Pro Top Case

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by w8ing4intelmacs, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. w8ing4intelmacs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast, US
    #1
    The top case on my Macbook Pro (2.4GHz late 2007) is really messed up. Can I use a topcase for an early 2008 MacBook Pro to replace it?

    Also, how difficult is replacing the top case? If I do this, should I replace the 160GB Hard Drive (i.e., am I taking the whole computer apart anyway?).

    Thanks everyone!
     
  2. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Go to ifixit.com. Follow the hard drive replacement instructions, it walks you through taking the top case off.

    Now would be a good time to replace the HD, it will be sitting right there and will only require 2 screws to remove. Just make sure you have the torx bit to remove the HD bumpers.

    My only tip is you have to press hard on the topcase near the edge for it to latch. Mine required alot of pressure.
     
  3. w8ing4intelmacs thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast, US
    #3
    I guess my question is:

    Can I use a Penryn Macbook Pro (early 2008) top case to replace a Santa Rosa MacBook Pro (late 2007) top case?
     
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #4
    No, there are slight differences between those two models. You need a Santa Rosa (A1226) top case. See here.
     

Share This Page