HELP : Restoring my time machine backup

Discussion in 'macOS' started by appleocd, Mar 15, 2010.

1. appleocd macrumors newbie

Hi guys....newbie here and I was hoping some of you could bail me out of the mess I am in.
    In short...I messed up the time machine backup on my Seagate external hd.

To begin with, I had partitioned the external hd to two drives....the first one held the clone of my mac (cloned via Super Duper) and the second partition held my time machine backups.

I bought a refurb 13 MBP yesterday (after selling my aged macbook)...I installed Win 7 on it and decided that one partition of the external hd could be used for Windows. So I formatted the partition containing the clone (despite warnings from Windows) to exFAT. Everything seemed fine in Windows.

I boot into SL to retrieve data from my TM backup and to my horror...SL says that it cannot read the TM partition!! In Disk Utility, I do not see any options to repair the drive and in fact, the TM partition shows up as an NTFS partition in Disk Utility. I am not even able to mount the TM partition!!!

In windows 7, I am able to navigate the top level folders in my TM backup but it shows no data. I guess bootcamp has trouble reading HFS partitions sized 350GB.

I know I screwed up bad but I am hoping I will be able to recover the data.
    For one thing, the TM partition still contains the data but it shows up as an unmountable NTFS partition in Disk Utility.

Can someone please help me out here?

2. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

I am not too sure why SL is not able to read the partition. Maybe you could try out macdrive for windows. I have personally not tried it but it should be able to read TM backups from Win 7. From there, you can at least copy over your files. Let me know how it goes.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

It is hard to tell what has happened based on your description
    According to what you have written, you did not touch the TM partition