Help running office 2008 on vmware fusion

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bostic220, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. bostic220 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone knows how I can run Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac on Windows through VMWare Fusion. Thanks
     
  2. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #2
    Er ... what?

    Office for Mac runs on the Mac. If you have Fusion, you have a Mac so you don't need to run it on Windows.
     
  3. bostic220 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    But I like office better on windows so I figured I could run it through Fusion
     
  4. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #4
    It's simple you buy that and a copy of windows and then it will partition your harddrive and you install windows on that partion then you just install applications on windows like you normally would.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    What plinden is intimating is that Office 2008 is a Mac product. There is no Office 2008 for Windows. Office 2007 is the latest Windows release. If you want to know how to run it through VMWare...erm...

    1) Install VMWare

    2) Install Windows in the VM environment.

    3) Boot Windows in VMWare

    4) Put in the Office 2007 disc

    5) Run the setup program.

    6) Follow the prompts.

    Where are you having trouble, exactly?
     
  6. bostic220 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Wow I feel stupid. Ive been trying to import the app into vmware....:eek:
     

Share This Page