HELP! screen says: USB OVER CURRENT-hub will be deactivated

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by alainr, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. alainr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #1
    when i turn on my mac, i get this message:
    USB OVER CURRENT NOTICE
    A usb device is currently drawing too much power.
    the hub to which it is attached to will be deactivated.

    This happened since i had my one to one lesson and brought my imac home and plugged everything into it again. nothing new has been added.

    i just click on the OK button when i get this message. does it hurt anything?
    any suggestions what I shld do?
     
  2. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #2
    It's not good that's for sure, repeated exposure to this could do damage your motherboard. The first time I ever got a usb over current error the power unit on my mbp died and it wouldn't turn on. I'd ring apple and see what they say but I can almost guarantee they'll blame whatever you're plugging in regardless of what you've say.
     
  3. alainr thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #3
    Cld the genius bar have messed it up?

    This message started when i came home after my one on one AND a session at the genius bar where he "cleaned"up my mac so it wld run faster as it was slow--repaired permissions and....

    cld something have been done that caused this message to come on now when i turn on my imac?


     
  4. CJS7070 macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  5. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    The USB overcurrent error has only two fixes generally. One is the SMC reset, the other is service, likely for the logic board. I very much doubt that whatever maintenance scripts the Mac Genius ran on the system would have caused this.
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    What's plugged into the USB ports. I bet you have plugged them back in different ports loading one bus more than the other taking you over the limit a tad.
     

Share This Page