HELP! Seeking App Development Advice/Insight

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by DJacob12, Feb 23, 2015.

1. DJacob12 macrumors newbie

I am currently doing some research for an app I am trying to get into the works. I am not a developer but I do have some knowledge on different topic. If I wanted to capture an image on a mobile device (i.e take a pic of myself) and apply 3D rendering to manipulate it in a way that I could: for example see what I would look like in certain clothes, without sacrificing the integrity or “how realistic the image appears”, what would be the best route?
    - Using a remote 3D rendering architecture?
    - Software architecture that carries out the entire 3D rendering process on a mobile device?
    Also is there currently any existing software that uses OpenGL ES to carry out the process on a mobile device? Advice? Insights? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

2. 1458279 Suspended

I saw an app a while back for "trying on glasses" ... same basic concept. IIRC, you would sit in front of a mirror, slowly move the iPhone around the front of your head. It would record and render a 3d model and apply different glasses to your 3d image which you could move around to see the sides.

It was demo'd on a TWIT show and worked well.

I can't say how it worked or what it used to do it, but it should be worth looking into. IMO, this forum really doesn't dig too deep into things, it's more entry level.

I'm working on some advanced topic things myself and I've found Git, Stack and blogs to be a good source.

I could be wrong, but aren't the graphic processing on an iPhone the same as with any PC? In other words, if image processing can be done on a mac/pc wouldn't the same routines be able to work on the iPhone? Wouldn't the difference be in how it's displayed?

3. DJacob12 thread starter macrumors newbie