Help selecting cmp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Noldat, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. Noldat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #1
    Hello all,

    I'm wondering if anybody can help me in selecting a Mac Pro. Before I start let me say I know PCs are superior gaming machines cost per value. That said and out of the way here is what I would like to do.

    I have a EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti Super Clocked Gaming ACX 2.0 6GB GDDR5 (I know there could be power and boot screen issues) and several SSD drives. I want to pick the best Mac Pro that can utilize those components and be a passable gaming machine in OS X(Mostly blizzard games). I would also like to know what I need to get continuity to work.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  2. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #2
    Hello,

    Go after a 4,1 or 5,1 Mac Pro.
    About Continuity you need WiFi with AC speed as well as Bluetooth 4. There are some adapters and Broadcom cards on eBay that can be installed on every Mac Pro to enable this feature.
     
  3. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    I recently purchased a 5,1 2010 Mac Pro with the 3.33 Westmere processor and an Nvidia 680 GTX. I swapped my main boot drive to a Samsung 850 EVO Pro SSD. Be sure to install and use a PCI Express SATA III card for your SSDs. I also popped in a USB 3.0 PCI card as well.

    The machine runs amazingly fast and I'm happy with my gaming needs which consist mainly of WoW. The Legion updates for Metal support help out with better performance in the game. I can only imagine how much better it will be for you using a 980!
     
  4. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    a single cpu 5.1 is the easiest to upgrade the CPU.
    the 4.1 use de'lidded cpu's which make the CPU swap a tad more complex.

    dual CPU's are not relay needed for games as most game's dont use more than 4 cores.

    i got a 5.1 with a quad 2.8ghz CPU which i swapped for the 6 core 3.33ghz one, was my first cpu install and vary easy to do.
     
  5. fhturner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #5
    Just a point of correction here: the SINGLE-processor 4,1s are lidded, so easy enough to upgrade. It's the DUAL-processor 4,1s that are de-lidded.
     

Share This Page