Help setting up Airport Network without base station

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jgdesign79, Apr 13, 2007.

1. jgdesign79 macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie when it comes to networking, and especially with Airport, AND without a base station. I've been trying for days and I just can't get it. I read some threads and successfully created an ad hoc network, but it's too limiting. Here's what I need to accomplish:

- Set up a network at home using my Intel iMac running Tiger (connected to my DSL modem)
    - Allow an iBook running Tiger to connect and be able to (1) use the internet , and (2) have full read/write permissions to a "media" partition I created on my iMac.
    - I would also like to get my PS2 on the network via Airport Express, receiving a wireless signal and connecting to the PS2 via ethernet.

I really need detailed help -- I understand things here and there, but not enough to "read between the lines". Thanks so much!!!!

2. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

What do you have set up so far? It sounds like your iMac is connected to the internet. You just need to share your internet connection. Open up Prefs --> sharing --> Internet. You want your settings to look like the illustration below.

Then your iMac should show up in your iBook's list of available networks.

To share a partition on your HD, you need to activate personal file sharing in the same prefs panel. Then just use Go --> Connect to server on your iBook and login to your iMac using your account info.

I don't know anything about playstation, though.

Attached Files:

3. jgdesign79 thread starter macrumors newbie

I've done all that, I think :(

The wireless network shows up fine on the iBook and I CAN connect to the internet.