HELP! Setting up iMac without USB mouse

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hazertag, Jan 31, 2015.

  1. hazertag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #1
    Im trying to setup a new (used) iMac with no USB mouse. I can tab through everything just fine until I hit the Diagnostics and Usage screen, and I cannot tab to "Continue"

    Anyone know what gives here or have any suggestions? I have a magic mouse but cannot figure out how to pair it during the setup phase.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Shut your new Mac off. Make sure your Mouse power switch is also off.
    I think that if you have another Mac, and the magic mouse is already paired to that other Mac, make sure that other computer is turned off (or the bluetooth card is turned off.) so that other computer doesn't interfere with the process of pairing to your "new" Mac.
     
  3. hazertag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the quick response. It doesn't seem to recognize the Magic Mouse. Does the fact that I have a USB keyboard confuse it?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    My magic mouse usually comes right up (and connects) simply by turning the power switch on (you'll see the power LED begin to blink)
    Click the left mouse button a couple of times, and wait a few seconds.
    You should be able to move the cursor within a few seconds.
    If not - shut the mouse power off, (I usually pop the batteries out for a moment, then back in), switch back on, click the mouse a couple of times.
    I have done this on several different Macs, and it will usually connect.

    You can tell it's connected when you move the mouse, and the cursor follows.

    hint - if you have more than one Mac or other computer, it's a Good Thing™ to find a USB mouse to keep around for that time when the mouse batteries go flat at 2am. Doesn't have to be new, and certainly doesn't have to be Apple branded.
    I look through yard sales for that kind of tech - just my 2 cents.

    If the Magic Mouse came with the used Mac, replace the batteries first (if you haven't already tried that!)
     
  5. hazertag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #5
    Im assuming the green light blinking in twos means "pairing mode?"
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Yep, turn the switch on, and the LED should be blinking.
    Also, it won't blink if the batteries are almost dead.
    Steady means it is paired with your Mac (connected)
    But, ultimately, the mouse is only working if you can move the cursor.

    The "pairing mode" lasts only 30 seconds or so, that's why I turn the mouse off, so I'm sure the pairing mode comes on.
    Turn on the power, put mouse down. Click a couple of times, and that should do it. Try to move the cursor on the screen.
    If it doesn't seem to work, try the same process again, until it works (or you give up) If you CAN'T get the pairing to work, open your bottom drawer, and pull out your spare USB mouse - that one that you stuck away because you bought the wireless mouse. Guess what? now you need the USB mouse.

    Finally - are you sure the magic mouse is good? This is the step where you change the batteries :D Does the light come on at all?
    Leave the battery cover OFF - the batteries will stay in place for this test. Some folks report a better connection with the bottom cover off. Try it to see if THAT helps.
     
  7. hazertag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #7
    Alright. I found an (old) USB mouse. Plugged it in. THe lights come on so it seems to be functional. However, the cursor STILL does not move. Seems like the computer is not recognizing any input from the mouse.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    bluetooth uses the USB bus, too.
    Something may be wrong with the USB bus.
    Try a PRAM reset.

    Which iMac do you have?
     
  9. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #9
    The OP mentioned being able to "tab through everything just fine", and I'm pretty sure the keyboard is connected through the USB bus as well ;)

    ----------

    Try a PRAM reset, as mentioned above, and if that fails check if the mouse works in the Recovery OS to rule out any OS-based problems.
     
  10. kallyflynn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    #10
    Cannot setup new (used) iMac with out mouse.

    I just got my new (used) iMac and made it as far as turning it on. I just started the set up process. It is asking what country, I am able to scroll up and down with my keyboard (connected through usb) but when I hit enter to continue it just makes an error noise and does nothing. HELP! I tried the Control Fn 1, as I saw was suggested but it just makes the same error noise.
     
  11. robeddie macrumors 68000

    robeddie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    Ok, I hate to ask the question, since you must have a good reason, but why not just go out and buy a new usb mouse for $20? If you just want to make sure the mac works but really don't want to use it, then return the mouse the next day?
     

Share This Page