help setting up wireless

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by michaelfields, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. michaelfields macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #1
    we just moved into a new apartment today and we had wireless set up in our old one. I took the router and connected it and selected the old network in our new apartment and it shows it as connected but when I try to load a page it just sits there and doesn't do anything.

    help please?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Is the router connected to the modem and is the modem plugged in to the telephone line or wherever you get your internet from?
    Do you still use the same ISP and does the ISP know of your move and changed accordingly?
     
  3. michaelfields thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #3
    the router is connected to the phone line/ethernet port plug thing in the wall. our internet is free from the apartment complex like it was in the last one, and the one before that.

    last time all we did was unhook it and bring it to the new apartment and connect. this time it's there but it doesn't do anything
     
  4. BubbaJones macrumors regular

    BubbaJones

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Can you wire directly into the router and get online? Have you tried connecting directly to the modem?
     
  5. michaelfields thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #5
    I tried deleting the old connection then I reset the router and hooked it up with it connected to the wall and the macbook then I set up the router again and it worked and let me go online but when I disconnected it the wireless won't work.

    So I think it's something set wrong on the router but I'm not sure what.
     
  6. BubbaJones macrumors regular

    BubbaJones

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    So are you connecting via wi-fi to the router?

    When you reset the router, was it a factory reset? If so, you lost all of your wireless settings and will need to create the network again.

    Otherwise, your router may have fried in the move. I've had two wireless routers lose wi-fi before. Hard wired they were fine, but they wouldn't broadcast a wireless signal.
     
  7. michaelfields thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #7
    That sucks. Is there a way to check? The wireless connection that I made earlier with it connected does show up though. It shows a full signal and that it's connected but it just sits there loading then says it's not connected to the internet even though the signal doesn't change.
     

Share This Page