HELP - so frustrating, one site won't work on my Macs????

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by silversealilies, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. silversealilies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    #1
    Hello all,

    I have a MacBook Pro and an iMac, and there's one Wordpress site that just won't work on my computers! It's my business site, so it's kind of important that I can get on to view and edit it.

    I cannot for the life of me figure this out. When I type in the URL, the site flashes up for a split second, then disappears. This happens on Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Opera on both my computers.

    I'm running OSX 10.6.8 on both my Macs.

    I thought maybe it was a network issue, but it happens at both my home and my office, and no one else has this problem - that's why I think it's a Mac problem (I'm the only one with Macs).

    Anyone have any ideas??
     
  2. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #2
    perhaps if you gives us the link? maybe we can come up with some ideas?

    if its just a standard wordpress site then it should not be an issue.

    you can always try an online checker such as http://try.powermapper.com/Demo/SortSite and see what that says.

    Other things to try - open a terminal window and try

    Code:
    ping www.yoursite.com
    that should tell you if your mac can reach it.
     
  3. silversealilies thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply. The site is www.insidekentmagazine.co.uk

    I scanned the site as suggested with Powermapper - nothing major comes up apart from Accessibility (which is like another language to me!).
     
  4. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

    dan1eln1el5en

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #4
    the OS is not to blame, for sure.

    I see 10 errors one of which is:
    Port: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.

    on Chrome
     
  5. 960design macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #5
    I gave you a hit, popped right up on my mac with no issues.
     
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #6
    same here - no issues Mavericks with Safari and chrome.

    routing issue? DNS? ISP?
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Works fine on my OSX 10.6.8 partition. It's a magazine site with infinite scroll.
     
  8. macman312 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
  9. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #9
    To echo other threads, works perfectly well on Mavericks, Safari. Looks like a lot of happy Kentish-folk on that site :).
     
  10. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #10
    Firefox, Chrome and Safari are all working fine here with your site.
     
  11. silversealilies thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    #11
    Thanks for checking everyone, but it still doesn't work for me!!! Anyone have any ideas?
     
  12. smirking macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #12
    You can get a blank screen if your hosting runs out of memory, but usually you wouldn't get even the initial flash of content.

    Are you logged in when you view your site? If you are try visiting in Safari with private browsing turned on or Chrome Incognito mode so you'll be anonymous and (probably) get served mostly cached content that won't require much processing.
     
  13. 960design macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #13
    Maybe its a cache thing? Try Safari-> Click on the Safari word-> Reset Safari.

    This will clear out all the old stuff, then try navigating to the page with the full url, actually type it, don't click a link. Oops... already mentioned above!

    Are using an external host? Or self hosted? Could be a lan redirect issue ( .htaccess or php.ini configured not 100% correct ). I've spent many hours of my life, fighting with this. Take your computer to another network and see if you can see it.
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Ask your host for help. It works on 10.6.8 and other Mac OS for people here so problem is on your end.
     

Share This Page