HELP! Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD Stuck at Grey Screen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by scottrichardson, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. scottrichardson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #1
    Hey all,

    All of a sudden this morning I attempted to boot my 2009 Mac Pro with RAID 0 Samsung SSD 840 drives on a Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD PCIe Card. It has been working fine for months but now it won't go past the spinning loading graphic on the Grey Apple screen.

    I can safely boot into my old SSD, but that doesn't really help my work system is all on the RAID.

    Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

    Running OS X 10.8.5 + supplemental on the Sonnet. And 10.8.2 on the backup SSD.

    Kindest regards,

    Scott
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2

    Hold down the Command and V keys when you boot to get into verbose mode so you can see where the machine hangs up. Then report the error or last on the screen output to us and hopefully someone can help.
     
  3. scottrichardson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #3
    OK, I'll go do this now. I'll take a photo of the screen output!

    Many thanks mate.

    Scott

    ----------

    OK thats strange. When I created this thread I was in the kitchen on my Air having breakfast - meanwhile I'd left my mac pro hung on the grey loading screen.

    When I just returned to do just as you'd suggested, my Mac Pro had fully booted.

    Rebooting now to see if it hangs again.

    ----------

    And it's working fine again.

    Weird. Kind of frustrating that this occurred on the morning I decide to get up early to get ahead on some projects. Spent the whole time messing with this issue instead :(

    I'll keep this thread open in case it happens again in the next 24 hours!
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Good to hear it is working. I dislike that screen a Mac boots with I have mine set to boot verbose at all times, not that I boot up that often it runs 24/7, so that I can see if anything unusual is going on when booting.
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    If this were a spinning drive configuration, I'd tell you that it's likely a file system error, and to verify/repair the drives. Since it's an SSD, I can't say with certainty how that works as I've never used SSD's.
     

Share This Page