help! (spaces won't work after ram upgrade)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jordan eff, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. jordan eff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #1
    can someone help me

    i just upgraded my ram from 2Gb to 4Gb and everything seems fine but when i went to use spaces nothing happened, i opened spaces in the dock and it took me to system preferences and the setting for expose and spaces has gone

    whats happened and what do i do to fix it????
     
  2. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #2
    also just noticed the icon for "sharing" in system preferences has also disappeared

    help please
     
  3. JimmyDThing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #3
    This doesn't make any sense... if you had only upgraded your RAM then nothing should have changed.

    You might want to bring it into an Apple Store if you have one near by... although they'll say that the cause is your RAM unless you bought it from them.

    Upgrading RAM should have no effect on the OS... that should all be stored on the HDD. This is such a windows thing but... have you tried restarting? I honestly can't think of a single reason why memory should have an effect on the behavior of the OS.
     
  4. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #4
    my nearest store is about 1 hour away and its hard to get the machine this size to them

    i dont have a clue how this happened and why would these 2 alone just disappear
     
  5. Ashmanspice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
  6. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
  7. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #7
    just swapped my ram over back to 2Gb

    still no change, so should i call the apple helpline
     
  8. trose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #8
    If it took you to system prefs when you clicked Spaces, that must mean that it needs to be configured. So why don't you just try and Enable and configure Spaces in system prefs and see if it works?

    What I'm guessing is that for whatever reason your PRAM was reset during the RAM upgrade, and so you lost some system settings. I have no idea why, but that's what it sounds like.

    Have you actually tried configuring Spaces again and it still does not work? I wasn't sure of that by your first post.
     
  9. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #9
    spaces isnt listed in system pref along with expose and sharing
     
  10. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #10
    just off the phone to apple, helpfull as always but it didnt get sorted, they havn't got a faintest clue what would make expose/spaces and shharing just disappear. and also just looking while I was o the phone I could see a few grey blotches on the screen and mentioned this and apple couldnt apologize any more for having 2 imacs and 2 problems. so now I have to restore the imac and see if this helps

    just my luck
     

Share This Page