Help! Strange issue with display brightness at boot up

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AAPLGeek, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. AAPLGeek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #1
    Hello!

    I'm using a 2011 13" MacBook Pro. For the past few days the brightness always resets to full on boot up and just when the spinning wheel stops loading(before desktop loads), it dims automatically to the level I've set it at.

    I've already tried resetting SMC and PRAM but neither seems to have helped.

    I thought my new Mountain Lion install had something to do with it so i reinstalled Snow Leopard but the issue still persists. :(


    What could be the issue? Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. sharkman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    #2
    I'm confused.. What's the problem, that the screen blinds you on boot up?
     
  3. AAPLGeek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #3
    Exactly. It never did that before so I'm a bit worried.
     
  4. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #4
    In my understanding you can't adjust brightness at the login screen, so it displays at full when you start your computer, then will drop down to the user defined brightness when it has your profile loaded. Kind of like how your headphones and speaker volume can be different, but could be totally wrong here.
     
  5. sharkman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    #5
    Seems normal to me, i've noticed with most of my MBPs I have had IIRC.
     
  6. AAPLGeek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for the above replies.

    I'm pretty sure there is something odd going on here.

    In addition to the above issue, the brightness level is sometimes maintained during boot up but its very sporadic.

    It usually resets to full and its really annoying.
     
  7. omgitscro macrumors 6502a

    omgitscro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    Do some searching on Google; I've had this problem before. I remember having to delete some brightness setting file that had its permissions set wrong.
     

Share This Page