Help to Boot into Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by pestbest, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. pestbest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I'm new to this forums. I am in need of some assistance. Basically, I can't boot into Windows.

    The problem started when I partitioned my Windows Partition so that I can dual boot Windows XP and Windows 7. I used GParted Live to Partition. When I try to boot into Windows XP now so I can install 7, what happens is that there is no option to boot Windows.

    I tried pressing the option key on startup but the only boot option is Macintosh HD. When I try to set Windows to boot at startup, after turning on my Macbook, a White Screen appears and nothing else.

    How will i be able to boot into Windows XP. Thanks very much for all your help in advance. :)
     
  2. markojug macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    In A House, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Your Windows boot might have been corrupted. Try using Boot Camp instead. Run Boot Camp assistant and follow the instructions that it tells you. If you would like a tutorial, just YouTube it.
     
  3. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #3
    But Boot Camp will only get you the first Windows partition. To get a second one like the OP wants you have to go unsupported and do something like the OP did.

    I would suggest doing as markojug suggests to fix your original Windows XP partition and then using virtualization rather than triple booting in order to try out Windows 7. Unless you have a particular game that needs to run directly on the hardware and under Windows 7, you can use Windows XP for gaming and then use Parallels or VMware Fusion or Virtualbox to run Windows 7. Then when 7 is finally released you can upgrade your Boot Camp partition to Windows 7 and either leave Windows XP behind or move it to a virtual machine.
     
  4. pestbest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #4
    I did install Windows using Bootcamp. After I installed Windows, I partitioned my Bootcamp Partition again using Gparted Live. Now, I can't boot into my Windows Partition but I'm sure it still works. The main problem here : I can't boot into it.
     
  5. pestbest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #5
    I don't intend on using a Virtual Machine because I only have limited system resource (1GB RAM), Is there any other way I can triple boot Macintosh HD, Windows XP and Windows 7 all on one single Macbook. The only issue I have is that I'm unable to boot into Windows.
     
  6. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    I suggest installing rEFIt and use it's utility to sync the GPT & MBR of the disk. GParted is only going to partition the disk as GPT or MBR, not both. Since by default the disk is partitioned as GPT, it is most likely leaving that intact, but Windows cannot boot from systems using a BIOS and GPT, only EFI and GPT. Unfortunately at this time Windows on Mac computers requires the use of BIOS emulation, and so will only boot from an MBR disk, hence the need to sync the two through rEFIt.
     
  7. pestbest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #7
    Okay. I will reboot my computer and see if it does show what partition to boot to. If I can successfully boot into Windows or it doesn't work, I will update later. Thanks for your help.

    Edit: I can't boot into Refit. Basically, the white screen shows again and I have to restart, press option and boot into Mac. The page refit is supposed to show to ask which partition to boot into doesn't show up.

    Also, BillGates, Can you please provide me with step by step information on how to sync using Refit? I will greatly appreciate it.
     
  8. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Try manually blessing rEFIt as the startup item. See here. Run the enable.sh script that the page refers to. If I remember correctly, it should be located in the folder that rEFIt creates, in the root of your hard drive. Once you get rEFIt working, you need to run gptsync.efi. I believe it's the hard disk icon shown here, but you should be able to find it if it's not, on the main rEFIt screen.
     
  9. pestbest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #9
    Thank you so much. I managed to install Refit on a CD and boot it at startup. It synced perfectly and now, Windows is working. I can't thank you enough. Would love to REP you but looks like there's no REP feature here at Macrumors.
     

Share This Page