help to open SSH on iphone 3G O 3.0, & make my own text tone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jenmelb, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. jenmelb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #1
    i am having trouble opening SSH,
    i have iphone OS 3.0

    because i wanna add my own text message ringtone,
    and its just so hard
    so i need some help, thanks
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Have you downloaded OpenSSH through Cydia yet? Here is a guide, it has an "How to SSH guide attached to it near the end.
     
  3. jenmelb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #3
    i have but were it says open Terminal on desktop
    i have no clue what that is
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    Where does it mention terminal? Terminal isn't required. If you want to ssh, you should just download CyberDuck. It will detect your iPhone with bonjour, and you can just double click your phone to connect. :)
     
  5. jenmelb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #5
    i cant download cyberduck because its only for macs i have a pc
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    Then download an SSH program for windows, and use that. There are tons, search for one.
     
  7. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #7
    you need winSCP or Putty or something like that...

    You will then be able to SSH into the phone if you have OpenSSH installed.

    Once both are installed, its simple..

    You find out the phones IP address on your network. Once you do that you add that IP into the Host name...

    Host Name - IP (192.168.XXX.XXX)
    Port Number - 22
    User Name - root
    Password - alpine
    File Protocol - SFTP (make sure "Allow SCP Fallback" is checked)

    Also, before you do this...make sure you turn your auto lock feature on the phone off.

    Good luck...

    PS, if you have some cool .caf tones, let me know..im looking to replace mine, but i cant find any good quality ones. I want tones, not music as a new message tone.
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Just make your own. You can change any ringtone, sound file into a .caf

    CAF is a renamed AIFF file (*.aif). AIFF is an uncompressed file (like a .WAV file).

    iTunes can convert any file imported into an AIFF if you go into preferences/general/importing and select the AIFF encoder. Then just rename the file to the proper *.caf file you want to replace and SSH it to the phone.

    Don't forget to change preferences back to ACC when done.
     
  9. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #9
    Here's a Super Mario Brothers 1-Up sound to get you started. 1-Up
     
  10. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #10
    I actually tried this...i took a WAV file from windows and converted it...however, it was almost DEAD silent in terms of volume. I tried to raise the gain on the clip..it worked for a couple of notches up. However, its not loud enough...if i raise the gain too much the tone clips on the player when it plays.
     
  11. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #11
    HighLife420,

    Some tones just don't work well with the iPhone's speaker. Anything with a lot of low-end sound (bass) tends not to be loud enough. The speaker just can't handle reproducing the sounds in the right way. If you find a tone with mostly mid/high-end (mid/treble) then it should work out better. If it sounds good on your computer speakers but not on the phone this is probably the issue.

    Another problem is how the clip was recorded. A good amount of sound clips online are low quality and aren't good from the start. For example, if the sample was playing on someones TV/computer and they used an external microphone chances are it's not going to be that great for what you want. If it's recorded directly off the soundboard (using Wiretap Pro or something similar) it'll be much better.

    I'm not sure if anything I've mentioned relates to the problem you have, but I thought I'd share just in case.
     
  12. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley

Share This Page