help! (transfer of data from macbook --> external HD)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iMackPro, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. iMackPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #1
    I am a huge movie buff, and im sure some of you have seen my other posts of how im wanting to find a way to watch movies on my tv that i have downloaded. Well i have been debating the apple tv and other things and from the resources i have as of now im wanting to use an external HD to play movies through my ps3 until i decide if i need/want an apple TV.

    With that being said


    Heres my question if you don't want to read the above statement:

    I cannot transfer movies from my mac to an EXTERNAL HDD i have found its a "My Passport external 500 GB HDD".
    When i try to transfer movies on to this HDD to connect it to my ps3 it says "The operation can’t be completed because an unexpected error occurred (error code 0)."

    Any idea as to why i cannot transfer the movie? i have plenty of space to do so! the file im transferring is compressed to 11GB. it was originally 13,can i compress it more than once and make it like 3 GB or something?
     
  2. waynep macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #2
    How is the HD formatted? Maybe you need to verify it's formatted with a file system that the PS3 supports?
     
  3. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #3
    FAT32 is also good (aka MS-DOS)
     
  4. sab165 macrumors member

    sab165

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    FAT32 is only good for files up to 4GB in size. To move an 11 or 13GB file you will need an NTFS formatted drive. You also need the software to be able to read/write to an NTFS drive such as Paragon or MacFuse.
     
  5. iMackPro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #5
    how do i reformat the drive?
     
  6. sab165 macrumors member

    sab165

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The only way to format to NTFS that I know of is to do so using a Windows OS. In Windows you open My Computer through the start menu and right click on the drive and click format. You should be able to change the format type there to NTFS.
     
  7. iMackPro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #7
    well thats a problem for me lol
     
  8. akonikui macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I believe if you download and install macfuse and ntfs-3g, you can use Disk Utility to erase and format as ntfs.
     
  9. zwodubber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    Or tuxera
     
  10. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #10
    NTFS-3G is the outdated version of Tuxera NTFS
     

Share This Page