Help trying to figure out why mac pro is not booting?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kalex, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. kalex, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    Hello

    I have a 2009 mac pro that was flashed and upgraded to 2010. Its been running great till this morning. Just tried to turn it on and, power light comes on, disks spin up, fans spin up but nothing else happens.

    It was powered off somehow over night.

    There is also a red light glowing inside right under the first HDD trey. I took a picture of it, hopefully u can make it out.

    Any ideas what the light is? or possible issue? it was working fine as of last night. Never had an issue in 4 years i had it.


    EDIT: it seems that light under HDD 1 sled is on after i power it off but when its on there is a different light next to the cpu that is red. picture attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Both LED are also for processor over temperature indication.

    I don't know if that's the real CPU problem or the sensor's problem. However, if SMC reset can't cure it. You may try to reseat the CPU, and re-apply the thermal paste.
     
  3. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    SMC reset didn't help. I did :remove power cord, press power button for 10 seconds, plug in power cord and wait 5 seconds. then power it on.

    Same as before, no chime no boot
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Since you said that you flashed it to 5,1, I assume you did upgrade the CPU. If you still have the original CPU, you may put it back to test the system.
     
  5. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #5
    Yep still have the original one. Going to try putting back
     
  6. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #6
    Swapped back original cpu but still no go. I think i figured out the problem though.
    It looks like one of the clips holding heatsync next to the cpu broke off as it fell out when i took the big heatsync off. I think it clipped it when i originally swapped the cpu and it finally broke off ater a year or so.
    So question is where do i find a replacement? Its in the picture attached circled in blue.

    any thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu5.JPG
      cpu5.JPG
      File size:
      168.6 KB
      Views:
      70
  7. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #7
    New processor daughter board time to hunt ebay.
     
  8. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #8
    is that the only solution?
     
  9. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #9
    Artic silver 2 part thermal resin - thermal araldite in other words and it won't come off any more.
     
  10. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #10
    you mean glue the heatsync to the chip?
     
  11. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  12. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #12
    Unless you have a friendly local repair agent who you can raid their dead parts bin to salvage components sticking that heatsink on that north bridge type chip will be an awful lot cheaper than a cpu board. Have you held it down in place to see if it boots ok?
     
  13. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #13
    nope. can i try booting it without the big heatsync? once big heatsync goes on, it covers the northbridge heatsync
     
  14. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #15
    Oh nice. thank you

    ----------

    main question is am I on the right track that its this?
     
  15. h9826790, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    Hard to tell, I am not 100% sure if north bridge overheat will give you the same LED warning or not. However, that's obviously broken. And the rivet is cheap to fix. Why now just give it a try before any other more expensive / risky solution?
     
  16. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #17
    Yep. ordering adhesive
     
  17. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #18
    Kids bedtime in the way had to rush. I have little zalman type heatsink to just stick on top of a die.

    My guide of running a cpu minus the heat sink which harks back to melting Athlon XP's for amusement is probably 6-8 seconds naked bearing in mind the size of the westmere die. Don't use the power button pull the cord or a switch on the plug socket it takes too long...

    You could have cooked the northbridge chip if it doesn't work, not sure if it gives the same fault readings. Never had one of those reballed either but I have used the resin before to stick them down.

    Finding a rivet to hold it down maybe a better idea or feign ignorance when you exchange your processor board and have glued it!
     
  18. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #19
    Its not under warranty anymore so if resin doesn't work i will just get another board on ebay. Saw few of them fairly affordable. I'll check around maybe i have the rivet in my parts stash.
     
  19. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #20
    Parts stash a good idea I can think of a few bits I could jam in there from mine just to hold it in place for a few minutes. Reckon likely it's cooked the northbridge but you need to double check to be certain. They heat up fairly fast but nothing like a cpu and yours is dead from cold. It probably broke off overnight and cooked.
     
  20. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #21
    correct. its dead from cold start.
     
  21. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #22
    Northbridge Cattle trucked as we say over here is likely - but 4,1's flashed with lidded chips are predictably unpredictable with their fault codes with screw turns too so there is still hope. Fingers crossed your Xeon is ok fella
     
  22. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #23
    i put the original cpu back in and it was same issue so cpus are fine.
     
  23. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #24
    Good luck eBay hunting!
     
  24. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #25
    Hunt is over :)
    Found processor board with original quad core processor for $180 shipped on ebay. It arrived today, transferred my ram and everything is up an drunning. OSX even restored my open apps at the time of the crash :)

    Now going to attempt to fix the board i have and see if it works
     

Share This Page