HELP! Trying to use domain name w/MobileMe

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Invizzible, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Invizzible macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #1
    Please help! I tried to follow Apple's instructions on this, and create a CNAME alias for my domain name, so it would point to my iweb-created site on Apple's servers. But the place I registered the domain from (Blue gravity) doesn't have any such field to assign an alias or CNAME. So then I read online that I need to use a third party company to do that, so I signed up with Edit Zone. They assigned me two name server's, which I put in the appropriate fields back on the Blue Gravity site. Then also on Edit Zone, it allowed me to assign web.me.com as the alias for my domain. Yet, it doesn't work. I have no idea why. I told MobileMe the domain name, so that side should be ok.

    One more weird thing: When I look up my domain using the "Whois" search, it says my IP address is 1.1.1.1. HUH?????

    Has anyone gone through this hell and figured it out? I'm really disappointed. I thought the whole point was that this is supposed to be the easy way to put up a website!
    Also, if I have to bail on the idea of using my registered domain name with my MobileMe server space, does anyone know if I can just go the regular old route of buying server space from somewhere and uploading my iweb-created site? Will that work, or is there some special proprietary Apple stuff going on with a site that's created on iweb? Sorry for the long post...Hope someone can help.
     
  2. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #2
    You should be able to ask the company you registered your domain name with to arrange for the CNAME to be set up for MobileMe, you shouldn't have to go to any other third party. I e-mailed the company I registered my domain with and they sorted it all out.
     
  3. Giovannino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #3
    I agree with NATO, you should be able to get it to work.

    I myself have setup two or three domains using ZoneEdit as CNAME pointing to web.me.com and found them to be working with no problems.

    For informations on publishing to a server other than MobileMe (hence publishing to a folder) and uploading a site thorugh an FTP have a look at this page here:
    http://iwebfaq.org/site/iWeb_Folder_FTP.html
     
  4. Invizzible thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #4
    Thanks, it started working mysteriously about 5 days after I set it all up. I guess maybe that's how long it takes for everything to work??? Anyway, it's working now so I won't complain. Wish I'd known ahead of time though about needing zone edit if I use Blue Gravity for the domain reg. I would've used a different company.
     
  5. emelex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #5
    i am using godaddy forwarding and masking for my webpage.. but it is really irritating because i have subdomains that dont show up.. the url always reads "mydomain.com" instead of showing the pages i have linked to. i want to use CNAMEs.. and i tried once... putting "web.me.com" in the alias field... and i added my personal domain on mobileme... i dont think i am doing the cnames right. can anybody help with that?
     
  6. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #6
    Your domain provider should be able to give you instructions on how to host your website at mobile me. I know that Go Daddy does and so does 1 & 1.
     
  7. Invizzible thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    #7
    Unfortunately I did not go with either of those, which I now sorely regret. My advice to anyone reading this is to stay away from Blue Gravity, because they do not allow a CNAME and that really screws up the whole idea of using mobileme with my domain name. But after many stressful hours, I did get it working by using Zoneedit as a go-between. However, I hate the idea of the kludge I had to create to get this to work. I was expecting a simple Apple solution to my little website.

    While I've got peoples' attention on this subject, does anyone know how I can register my domain name with a different company? For instance, when the registration is about to expire, how can I switch from Blue Gravity to, say, Go daddy or 1 & 1? I would love to leave Blue Gravity in my rear view mirror.
     
  8. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #8
    Look on their site on how to transfer the Domain name. Or call Go Daddy.
     

Share This Page