Help Ugrading jailbroken 3GS 3.2.1. to 4.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by 3G19101, Sep 3, 2010.

1. 3G19101 macrumors newbie

I have a 3GS running 3.2.1 that I jailbroke using blackra1n. I would like to upgrade to 4.0.1 to jailbreak with jailbreakme.com. I already did the make my life simple thing on Cydia a while back, which now says "This device has SHSHs on file for iPhone OS/iOS 3.1.3, 4.0, 4.0.1, 4.0.2" I have a windows netbook. Is there an easy way to upgrade to 4.0.1 and then jailbreak and/or a foolproof step by step guide? I'm not that tech savvy. That's why I used blackra1n (1 or 2 clicks) and now want to use jailbreakme.com. I tried googling for this and searching the forum, but I didn't find anything useful. Any guides or links would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

As long as you have your SHSH for 4.0.1 stored with Cydia, you can easily upgrade to 4.0.1. Download the 4.0.1 ISPW from Modmyi.com, make the changes to your /etc/hosts file (if you haven't already done so), then restore to 4.0.1. All the specific instructions are easily available on this site or Google searches. Once you're at 4.0.1, go to jailbreakme.com on your iPhone and jailbreak. Doesn't get much easier. The only part that can be a little challenging might be the modification of your hosts file. It's a hidden file, so you have to unhide to find it. On a Mac, it's easiest to modify it through Terminal. There are Windows instructions as well.

3. 3G19101 thread starter macrumors newbie