Help: Unable to create new partition

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Zakzilla, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Zakzilla macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I'm excited to get OS X El Capitan installed -- I've got the installer downloaded from the App Store, and want this beta installed on a new partition (I've been burned in the past using betas as primary).

    When I visit Disk Utility to add this additional partition, the partition tab has greyed out buttons for adding and removing partitions. I attached a screenshot. It's strange.

    Anyone else have this issue? Is it because I have a bootcamp partition perhaps?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Zakzilla thread starter macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Nobody else having this issue? I'm running on a 2015 MBP 15" w/ OS X Yosemite + 512GB SSD
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    That is because your Macintosh HD volume is in core storage format. Disconnect any other drives and run the command below to turn off core storage then you should be able to resize the volume.

    Code:
    diskutil cs revert /
     
  4. Zakzilla thread starter macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Thanks for the reply. Do I need to revert back to CoreStorage after?
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Nah... it will be fine without.
     
  6. Zakzilla thread starter macrumors member

    Zakzilla

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    From what I can tell, I can't do this because FileVault 2 is enabled. Do you know of a way to revert with FileVault 2 on?
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Filevault causes the same problem and you will need to turn it off first so you can resize that first volume.
     

Share This Page