help uploading site to school's domain

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by BeyondMountains, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. BeyondMountains macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    Its an assignment for school.
    A personal website.

    The school has a domain for my name. Some how I need to access it from my mac to upload the site i made.

    i made the site in iweb (in school we were using frontpage (ew) and they made it easy to upload to the site.

    i know on windows i can goto explorer (not ie) and type in the website under networking and it prompts me for my username/password

    is there anyway to do something similar with os x?
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    I'm guessing you connect via the built-in FTP on Windows? Get an FTP client for OS X (like Cyberduck or Transmit) and use that.
     
  3. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #3
    i'm trying to use easy iweb publisher but its not working. i dont know whats wrong, its saying it cannot connect.
     
  4. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    yes i used windows built in ftp and it worked
    cyber duck isnt able to connect neither. i dont get it
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You may want to talk to your school's tech support as they may only be allowing connections on certain ports or using some other protocols that aren't apparent to you. My university switched to only allowing SFTP rather than FTP to keep things more secure.
     
  6. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #6
    It worked under FTP for windows.

    I asked my professor and he is only able to give window support. I dont see why it worked for windows and not my mac
     
  7. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #7
    when i do it under windows

    i type the http website though not ftp
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
  9. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #9

Share This Page