Help Using Older iMac as 2nd Monitor

laurie27

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2020
3
0
Hi,

Newbie here...

I'm trying to use my older iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2009) as a second monitor for my MBP (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015.) I've read about Trigger Display Mode (TDM) which I don't believe is supported on my iMac. Is it possible to use the iMac as a second monitor? If not, what about as simply an external display?

Thank you!

Laurie
 

jcjost

macrumors newbie
Mar 26, 2020
2
1
Hi,

Newbie here...

I'm trying to use my older iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2009) as a second monitor for my MBP (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015.) I've read about Trigger Display Mode (TDM) which I don't believe is supported on my iMac. Is it possible to use the iMac as a second monitor? If not, what about as simply an external display?

Thank you!

Laurie
I use Luna Display in order to use my 24" iMac (late 2008?) as a second/extended monitor with my 27" iMac (late 2012). It works quite well and should work with your MBP. See https://lunadisplay.com --John
 
  • Like
Reactions: laurie27

laurie27

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2020
3
0
I use Luna Display in order to use my 24" iMac (late 2008?) as a second/extended monitor with my 27" iMac (late 2012). It works quite well and should work with your MBP. See https://lunadisplay.com --John
Hi John,

This looks like a viable option! I'm still wondering if there's a cabled solution as I'd prefer not to deal with multiple app versions on the main and target systems. How is the company wrt updates, etc?

Thanks!

Laurie
 

jcjost

macrumors newbie
Mar 26, 2020
2
1
The Luna adapter (which you have to purchase) is plugged into my main display. My main display is connected by ethernet to the router. My secondary display is also connected by ethernet to the router. (I don't use Luna's wireless option.) Each display must have the the Luna app installed -- you can't avoid that. I don't know about updates to the apps, I've only had the Luna for a few months. It's a bit slow to start, but overall I'm quite happy with it. --John
 

laurie27

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2020
3
0
The Luna adapter (which you have to purchase) is plugged into my main display. My main display is connected by ethernet to the router. My secondary display is also connected by ethernet to the router. (I don't use Luna's wireless option.) Each display must have the the Luna app installed -- you can't avoid that. I don't know about updates to the apps, I've only had the Luna for a few months. It's a bit slow to start, but overall I'm quite happy with it. --John
Thank you!
 

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.