Help Virus 100%

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by jakealdred, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. jakealdred macrumors member

    jakealdred

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester england
    #1
    i logged into a website
    and when ever i turn on msn
    it send of messages to everyone
    is this a virus????
    -jake
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
    Sounds like spyware, didn't know there was this kind of spyware for mac. Just run a Anti Spyware program.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Did you download something or open an attachment on an email?
     
  4. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #4
    I guess you're using Microsoft's MSN messenger for Mac? Don't. Use Adium instead.

    Microsoft MSN:Mac is open to some of the same viruses as old Windows versions of MSN...
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    which browser did you use? which website did you get this problem?

    It sure sounds like a security problem of the browser (if you indeed get infected through the website), the malicious codes getting to your messenger through executable code on website.
     
  6. jakealdred thread starter macrumors member

    jakealdred

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester england
    #6
    i used safari
    adium wont work:|
    and yurp msn for mac:)
    -jake
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    if you use safari,

    1. turn off "open safe files after download"
    2. be careful not to visit suspecious websites.

    Safari doesn't remind users about malicious websites when they are trying to visit them. If you visit a lot of different websites, be careful. It doesn't hurt to try out firefox 3 beta4 if you want. Who has probably better measures on this topic.

    What do you mean "adium won't work"? the app is broken and won't start? or it doesn't meet your need?
     

Share This Page