HELP!! Virus on my first Mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SrfRidr333, Jul 13, 2008.

1. SrfRidr333 macrumors newbie

If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it. I have somehow attracted a virus on my new Mac Air. At this time, It mainly effecting Safari and a few of the wireless networks I use. While using safari, I can not do any task without constantly have to press the 'Renew DHCP Lease' button in advanced network settings.
    I am also starting to see inconsistencies in other places as well.
    I am not too technically savvy, but ok. Any suggestions are much welcome!!!
    Thank you!
    :confused::mad::eek:

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Relax! There are no viruses on any Mac at this time. Describe in detail the symptoms you're having and we'll help you figure it out. Also, it's a good idea to make the title of your thread something more directly related to your problem, so you'll attract people with knowledge and experience in that particular area. You can Edit your post and change the thread title to something more appropriate.

3. SrfRidr333 thread starter macrumors newbie

Basically, whenever I use one or two particular free wi-fi locations (that I like), I can not use safari at all without continuously turning on and off my wireless connection or press the Renew DHCP Lease button.
    I am also at times being redirected to other websites than the ones I select. (minor problem of the two)

Any suggestion?

4. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Could be the free hotspots writing permanent DNS entries every time you connect to a different one. If the DNS doesn't get refreshed with each new connection, then undeleted old ones will continue to hold sway over the connection (particularly if they're first in order), slowing down everything you do.

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios